We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, clean, quiet, relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cathedral City
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small, clean, quiet, relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This resort is small compared to other Welk Resorts I have visited. However the standards are still high with good sized rooms, room service and friendly staff. We arrived in the dark and it can be hard to locate your apartment. The resort is two storey without any elevator (except a disabled facility for wheelchairs) so getting all your stuff on the second floor can be a drag. Even though the resort is small they do put something on for the kids every day and a few things in the evening. Best by far was the good supply of gas barbeques located around the site. Everyone BBQ'd each evening.

A tip to avoid the time share dragons - when you check in and finish all the formalities, the desk clerk will ask you to go to the concierge desk to get your parking tag. This desk is the time share desk and immediately you get the pressure. Do yourself a favour - don't get the parking tag, you don't need it. There is no security gate and I never displayed mine. you can avoid the dragons, foe a while.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course not the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    54
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
56
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is at least our third time to Welks. We had 4 days to use up of our timeshare so spent them here. Great one bedroom overlooking the golf course. Quiet and peaceful. Very clean, fully stocked full kitchen. Always enjoy staying at Welks. They are remodeling the lobby, so you have to go in to the back of the building to check in etc. Plenty of activities on site for families to enjoy.

Room Tip: no restaurant on site but close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Compared to other name time shares in the Palm Springs area, this one is not as luxurious nor does it have the class amenities. That being said it is still very comfortable and quite for the most part. As usual there was one family that cared nothing at all for the other guests at the resort and they let their little demons run up and down the hall yelling and stomping. I have been to some time shares that have cameras in the hallway for security and the catching of those inconsiderate guests that bother most people around them. A childrens water play area would be nice. Other Welk resorts have what amounts to a small water park on site.

Room Tip: Upstairs and facing the golf fairways is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived on Saturday and were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff. I requested the nicest location and room possible. We were given a top floor overlooking the golf course. Great location with new kitchens. The bathroom did have a new vanity, but the tub looked very old with tile surround and staining in tub. Very comfortable room with a fully equipped kitchen. Honestly, I cannot think of anything we needed as far as utensils that were not there. With a 6 year old, I was very pleased with the amount of activities for the kids. There's a rec room with ping pong, pool tables and even an air hockey table which costs just $1. They have activities such as t shirt making, magnet making. They even rent out table games and dvds. We did listen to the time share pitch, for the simple reason to get 4 free tickets to the aerial tramway. For a $90 value, we figured it was worth 1.5 hours of our time. Honestly, not a lot a pressure. We had no intention of buying. My only negative was that I did have some terrible reaction to the pool water. I developed a severe rash which the doctor did attribute to probably a very high chlorine concentration in the pool. Also, be aware that sprinklers come on during the night and also during the day. They do have signs warning that your car can get spotted. This did happen to me and a car wash would not remove them. I had to have my car professionally cleaned and waxed for $100. Management did allow me to park parallel taking 3 spots away from any sprinklers.

Room Tip: A room away from the street facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I just concluded a week's stay here using an Interval exchange. It is such a nice place! Even though the location doesn't afford any close by places for walking, driving wise it is under 15 minutes to ANYTHING you would want to see or do in the Palm Springs area. The airport is 5 miles and downtown Palm Springs is 6 miles. The units are basic and the kitchens are fully inclusive. It was as quiet as you would expect a place like this to be. The staff were probably the friendliest I have ever experienced at a time share property. I only have a couple of gripes: the wi-fi is extremely weak and slow, they should pour an upgrade into their system immediately. They do not have "in unit" washer/dryers, but pay machines in the main activities building. They charge a reasonable amount for use, but their usage is restricted to daytime hours. c'mon, sometimes people like to wash clothes late at night!

Room Tip: Obviously, the views facing the mountains are prime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent a week at the Welk Resort Palm Springs in late April. This resort has the friendliest people on the staff we have ever encountered..We had a lovely one bedroom facing the golf course which had been recently refurbished. I understand that by late summer all the units will have been redone. What a great unit with everything you could ever need. Also the resort is a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful pools on the property. They always have some activities to participate in like, bingo, breakfast, bbqs,. All well done and lots of fun. On Monday they have some local tour guides come in and talk at the pool to offer some great excursions in the area including golf. Do take advantage of these as they are well worth it,. They have a nice game room and activities room for the kids..but since this is basically a one bedroom resort, you will see very few children. There is a snack bar at the pool that offers great drinks and snacks and not very expensive. There are lots of restaurants and places to eat in the area and the resort is really in a perfect spot for getting around. We loved staying there and hope we can return in the future. I would definitely recommend this resort to my friends...

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course...lovely to sit on the patio or balcony in the morning and enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Welk Oasis is a wonderful place to stay in the Palm Springs area. Great location to all the desert activities, i.e golf,tennis,shopping,hiking,dining out,or lounging around the pool area... the weather and pool area is the best in the area.
All units are large one bedroom with a fold out couch, perfect for a couple or small family. Nice kitchen with every thing you need to prepare your meals, dining area seats four plus two more on the bar stools. We found our groceries at Trader Joe's, maybe a mile away.
The small cabana in the pool area has inexpensive breakfast and lunch sandwiches and also cocktails with happy hour from 2:00-4:00.They have all sorts of activities that you can join in if you would like,i.e wine and cheese bingo, barbecue lunches, casino night. Two nights and on Sunday mornings they have an informative get-togethers to tell us what the desert has to offer,one with champagne and one with coffee and donuts. You have free wi-fi and PC and printer to use,as well as pool tables,ping pong, air-hockey,and the staff is very helpful with activities for all ages. They are starting up outdoor barbecue for all to enjoy on weekend evenings.
This is a very wonderful place, very friendly staff... plus we have met many people and made wonderful friendships here. We've been coming to PS for 25 years now and this is by far our favorite place to stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same floor plan, we found the mountain and fairway view very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welk Resort Desert Oasis boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.