We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start the bubble machine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Start the bubble machine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

So, this isn't the place to go for a party. Nor is it a Zen Retreat, exactly. It's a clean, well-kept place near Palm Springs with a lovely view of the San Jacinto mountains, and a home spun quality that makes it a sweet place to be. They offer things like "book mark making" and "make your own sundaes". They also have a lunch BBQ by the pool a couple of days a week. Many of the guests are baby boomers and beyond (often with grandkids - and, there are activities for the kids as well). Alternatively, you can skip all this and spend time in a well-appointed comfortable room with a breath taking view, making visits to Palm Springs, Palm Desert and all there is to see and do in neighboring communities. A very nice way to spend some time.

Room Tip: The one tip is to avoid (at all costs) the sales pitch for buying into a time share. Do anything yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    59
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
59
72
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We also traded with RCI. We were a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised. On recommendation, we requested golf view. Best choice. Most units have been remodelled. They do a section each year. Housekeeping staff on top of things and very pleasant and accommodating. Check-in smoth and efficient. We were approached three times re the presentation but held our ground and declined. Pools were clean and plenty of chairs, loungers although this wasn't high season. Golf course was excellent and well priced. Beautiful walking paths throughout. Only complaint was that most people seemed well over 65.
Centrally located and easy to get around to various attractions.

Room Tip: Upper pool view or golf course view, although golf view can be too hot to enjoy the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We used a timeshare trade. The resort is very nice and the grounds are very well kempt. Our room however overlooked the parking lot, next to a busy busy road. Make sure you call ahead and ask for a room overlooking the pool or golf course. The rooms are a bit dated, not badly, but somewhat. Things in the room were clean with the exception of a few lampshade cobwebs. The living room was very spacious....the other rooms were average size. The kitchen was well stocked with the basic items, but take your seasonings if youre planning to cook there. Salt and pepper only were furnished.
The pools are nice and mostly quiet. Nice temp, plenty of loungers, etc. There seemed to be a lot of activities and happy hours, lunch specials etc.
Average age of the guests we saw around the pools was about 65. We saw a few younger families but not many and we didn't see any fams with teeagers.
This seemed to be more of a retired couples hangout.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for a week on a timeshare trade. Check-in efficient and quick with a no pressure invitation for a timeshare presentation. Plenty of space, all rooms a good size. Great fully equipped kitchen. The unit was clean and well kept although it is getting a little older. Great bed.
For the golfer there is a good deal with the golf course.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course. Upper floor a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great, fantastic, and not pushy on trying to sell you a time share. Safe parking, well lighted pathways and very comfortable rooms. If you have kids, this is the place you want to stay. They have everything curtailed towards the little ones to keep them busy and you comfortable. The apartment as I call it was fully stocked and lovely. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were pleasantly surprised to not have any of the problems that were mentioned. After reading previous reviews I requested and received an upper floor overlooking the golf course and having a beautiful view of the mountains. I am glad I did because I could see how some people would be upset with the ground floor facing the parking lot! I had no problem with the hi speed internet and thought the renovations of the rooms were tastefully done. This is not a hi end resort, it is small and quiet.

Room Tip: Request an upper room with a view of the golf course and mountains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My daughter, husband and I traded through RCI for a 3-night stay. Not too much pressure for a presentation when we checked in and we were not approached again. We had a ground floor room with a parking lot view. Not great, but oh well, it was a short trip. The resort seems more like an old apartment/condo complex, as the only thing there except the rooms is the lobby building and a couple of pools (one small adult pool and a larger family pool). There is a small snack bar that serves drinks & lunch-type foods by the pools. The rooms appear to have been recently renovated, but unfortunately only partially renovated....which left me a little unsatisfied. The furniture, carpet, decorations, tvs, and paint were modern and tastefully done. However, the popcorn ceilings, teal green kitchen counter tiles, repainted dark kitchen cabinets, old floor tile in kitchen & bath, MANY-coats painted old white bathroom cabinets, faux painted bathroom counter, and old shower/tub stall left for something to be desired. I hope that the resort's budget includes upgrades to these things, because they are badly needed. That being said, the units were quite spacious with a walk-in bedroom closet, plus a hallway coat closet. The bathroom was pretty large with a lot of counter space. The kitchen was adequately stocked, but was lacking sharp knives (though this seems to be the same everywhere). The sofa bed was fine for my 7-yr old, but I'm not sure adults would find it quite as cozy as the mattress was pretty thin. Even though it was a holiday weekend, we never had problems finding chairs at the pool and it never seemed very crowded there. The game room had air hockey, a couple of VERY worn pool tables, a couple of ping pong tables and a few video games. There were many activities scheduled throughout the day, but we didn't really partake in them as that's just not what we do on vacation.

Overall, is was an OK resort, but for me to rate it higher I would need to see the rooms completely renovated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welk Resort Desert Oasis boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.