We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's called the Welk Resort now” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cathedral City
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It's called the Welk Resort now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great, fantastic, and not pushy on trying to sell you a time share. Safe parking, well lighted pathways and very comfortable rooms. If you have kids, this is the place you want to stay. They have everything curtailed towards the little ones to keep them busy and you comfortable. The apartment as I call it was fully stocked and lovely. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    54
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
56
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were pleasantly surprised to not have any of the problems that were mentioned. After reading previous reviews I requested and received an upper floor overlooking the golf course and having a beautiful view of the mountains. I am glad I did because I could see how some people would be upset with the ground floor facing the parking lot! I had no problem with the hi speed internet and thought the renovations of the rooms were tastefully done. This is not a hi end resort, it is small and quiet.

Room Tip: Request an upper room with a view of the golf course and mountains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My daughter, husband and I traded through RCI for a 3-night stay. Not too much pressure for a presentation when we checked in and we were not approached again. We had a ground floor room with a parking lot view. Not great, but oh well, it was a short trip. The resort seems more like an old apartment/condo complex, as the only thing there except the rooms is the lobby building and a couple of pools (one small adult pool and a larger family pool). There is a small snack bar that serves drinks & lunch-type foods by the pools. The rooms appear to have been recently renovated, but unfortunately only partially renovated....which left me a little unsatisfied. The furniture, carpet, decorations, tvs, and paint were modern and tastefully done. However, the popcorn ceilings, teal green kitchen counter tiles, repainted dark kitchen cabinets, old floor tile in kitchen & bath, MANY-coats painted old white bathroom cabinets, faux painted bathroom counter, and old shower/tub stall left for something to be desired. I hope that the resort's budget includes upgrades to these things, because they are badly needed. That being said, the units were quite spacious with a walk-in bedroom closet, plus a hallway coat closet. The bathroom was pretty large with a lot of counter space. The kitchen was adequately stocked, but was lacking sharp knives (though this seems to be the same everywhere). The sofa bed was fine for my 7-yr old, but I'm not sure adults would find it quite as cozy as the mattress was pretty thin. Even though it was a holiday weekend, we never had problems finding chairs at the pool and it never seemed very crowded there. The game room had air hockey, a couple of VERY worn pool tables, a couple of ping pong tables and a few video games. There were many activities scheduled throughout the day, but we didn't really partake in them as that's just not what we do on vacation.

Overall, is was an OK resort, but for me to rate it higher I would need to see the rooms completely renovated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had to use a week of our timeshare up so chose this place. We honestly felt like we were in our backyard (we are from sunny Arizona). Check-in was quick, but getting our parking pass at the concierge took forever. Very nice people though. We denied all attempts at doing a timeshare presentation and were never bothered about it again. The one bedroom unit was spacious and clean. Had a view of a parking lot and trees. We do not have kids, so we did not venture in the big pool with all the kids and families. The adult pool was disappointing for us as it was about the same size as our backyard pool, had the same palm trees we did and the same sunny, hot blue sky. Haha! But we made the best of it. Enjoyed the snack hut that had drinks nearby. Did some very cheap golfing on-site ($10! Thank you summer!) so that was fun. Relaxed by the pool most days and lots of activity was always going on. Looks like a great place for families. Great location as lots of good restaurants are within 10 minute drives, the Aerial Tramway is also close by and a must-do. We did the Thursday night walk on the street in Palm Springs and that was quite an experience. Lots of fun people watching! Overall, nice place but more geared for families with kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at this resort in a golf/mountain view room. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We love to cook and found the kitchen well stocked with everything we needed. There are beautiful plantation shutters to block out the afternoon sun. The pools were great but skip the goat patch they call a golf course.

The only reason I did not give this place a 5 is that the concierge told us the golf course was in great shape. It was horrible and there are literally hundreds to choose from that are much nicer than this one. I do not appreciate that she did not tell the truth.

Room Tip: The pools can be noisy so you may want to ask for a room with a golf view. Ask for an upper floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Truly a Gold Crown resort. The front desk help was so courteous and helpful, even let us check in early as the room was ready. Beautiful room, spacious, very well decorated and appointed, well supplied kitchen with all you need, very clean and convenient to work in.
The bedroom and bath also spacious, clean, and very comfortable with a private balcony with chairs and table and a view of the golf course and San Jacinto mountains. Beautiful!
The grounds and landscaping are first rate with two nice pools to enjoy....even movies at night for the kids. Fun
Lots of activities and both for kids and adults planned each day.
We would recommend visiting this resort.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Rented a "villa" for 2 nights for 3 adults and 1 child.

Staff was friendly although when you complete your check in, you are then ushered to the Concierge to issue you a parking pass. Real reason for this is for the property to convince you to attend a timeshare presentation. Let's face it, the check in agent can just as easily issue you the parking pass because it is there that you fill out the vehicle information. So just expect that, it's really not a hard sale like some other places but they should ask you if you are interested before offering it to you unwillingly.

They were able to accomodate my early check in at 1:00 PM and late check out of 11:30 although for the late check out request, they did say we couldn't stay longer because the property was full and my room was needed. The property was pretty much empty-at least my floor was as I did not see a single person on our floor for the entire three days I was there.

Game room was top notch. Pools-both adult and family were clean as was the jacuzzi. We did report cockroach sightings at night near the jacuzzi at which point the staff responded by giggling and reminding us we were in the desert where it was hot and humid and such insects are common. Do they sell Raid in the desert I wonder?

Room was well furnished with nice ammenities although the bathroom could use a facelift as does the kitchen. At $99/night, this was a pleasant stay. No parking fees and no resort fees makes this a good option. Make sure you book directly through the Welks reservation hotline as they will offer you a first time visitor special rate which beats any other rate out there including Expedia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welk Resort Desert Oasis boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.