We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family friendly resort in Palm Springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cathedral City
california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great family friendly resort in Palm Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This was stop 3 out of 4 on a 2 week southern CA vacation. Overall, this is a great place. The pool was the highlight of this resort. There was an adult pool and a family friendly pool, with a nice pool bar. The activity center is conveniently located. The fitness room is well equipped. The suites were spacious and the kitchens were well equipped and maintained. The bathroom was large and they even had a laundry line in the tub to hang your bathing suits. Overall, this would have been my favorite place we stayed in CA, but the beds were miserable. The king was too hard and the sofabed was so flimsy, you felt every spring (my six year old was not comfortable, forget an adult!). I hope they get new mattresses, because this was a great resort otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    52
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
56
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kootenays, BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We just spent a week at this resort. We had a lovely suite with a view of the mountains. It contains a fully equipped kitchen which we really appreciated and made good use of. It appeared that the decor had been recently updated and everything was fresh and clean. We found the bed very comfortable and had pillows with different degrees of firmness.

The main pool area was well maintained and had a snack bar that offered breakfast and lunch. There was also an adult only pool nearby. There were a variety of activities offered for young and old making it a great place to bring kids or grandkids. We took advantage of the aquafit classes that were offered every morning.

The resort is in an excellent location with restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and a variety of golf courses a short drive away. We also found the staff to be friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We returned as a renter for 3 days.
The location of building 1 is the poorest I would say being near the road and views of the car park.
The unit was the same as others we have stayed in and is more than adequate for a couple.
The pool area is very nice and clean with plenty of sun loungers plus a nice pool bar serving drinks and hot/cold snacks.
The resort is in a very convenient location to Hwy 111 and for getting around.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanna, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

we stayed here for 1 week and were here to golf .the unit was nice and lots of room for the 2 of us.we were on the 2nd floor which is good and the building farest from the road which is good also. the golf course there isn't very good at all.it was busy (for $19) I guess that's why. but we had to wait 20 to 30 minutes at the #1 tee box.and then wait every shot.. we only got done 14 holes and it was getting too dark . Twilight after 1 our tee time was 1:20..But we also golfed Taquitz Creek it was pretty good ,Then Cimmarron the long course it was nice desert course no trees.. the nicest one we golfed was Escena . It is a must very nice and not too expense, twilight after 1 was $65 each .Go to Ralphs for groceries and get the ralph card ,good discounts and it's free.......From Alberta very nice area

Room Tip: second floor ,the golf course view isn't anything special.. farthest biulding away from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week in January on an exchange through RCI. Our flight from Calgary got in around 1 pm and we were able to check in early to our room. At check in we were instructed to visit the concierge to get our parking pass who proceeded to give us the timeshare presentation sell. We listened politely and told her no thanks and that was the end of it. We did not use the concierge services during our stay so cannot comment on how good they are.
The best thing about the resort is the location. It is very easy to access major roadways. We were there for a golf vacation and appreciated that pretty much every course we golfed was 15 minutes away. We never golfed the Cathedral Canyon course so cannot comment on that. We did golf some beautiful courses, our favorites being Firecliff at Desert Willow and the Players course at Indian Wells Resort.
Lots of great restaurants in Cathedral City! We used Yelp to find them and were very satisfied with that. There is a great breakfast place called Don and Sweet Sues that I would recommend if you get tired of the standard stuff at IHOP or Denny's. There is a great theatre complex close by as well where they have both an IMAX and 6 regular theatres. We took the Tram to Peaks Dining one night which was nice if you are looking looking for a different experience.
The units at the resort are a nice size for a couple. We stayed in building 1 which faces the golf course but is closest to the road. You could hear the road noise from the room. We were also in a bottom floor unit and as the other reviewers mentioned you could hear the people above you whenever they walked about. Also anytime you walked down the hallway you could hear the people talking in their units. Likewise whenever anyone walked by our unit we could hear their conversation clearly, like they were in the other room This didn't bother us much as we were usually up early for golf and then gone in the evenings as well. If you are spending time in the units I recommend getting one in building 2 or 3 and on the second floor.
The resort is an older resort but they have done a good job with unit upgrading and the furniture and unit supplies were very adequate.
While we were there they were resurfacing the pool area which meant the pool and/or spa was closed on some of the days we were there. That was a bit annoying as we were there to enjoy the sun. The days we did get to the pool it looked like the cabana was closed so we brought our own beverages and no one said anything to us.
The bed was fine, a little harder than what we are used to, but we adapted. The pillows weren't the best but again they were adequate. I have had better, but I have also had worse.
Over all our experience was good. I am not sure if I would return. We have stayed in far nicer RCI Gold crown resorts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We booked this place through Hotwire so we didn't actually know we were going here until we made the reservation. The rate was really good but we weren't sure what to expect.

The staff was very friendly but the check-in area was a little bit cheesy and in need of a makeover. The woman at the concierge was very helpful though and gave us a great tip about Candy Cane lane on Minerva St. which was AWESOME and free so we were very thankful. If you visit during the holidays and you have kids, definitely make your way over there.

The room was spacious and clean and the kitchen was well-appointed. I was disappointed in the bed; it was hard as a rock as were the pillows. I had a hard time getting comfortable and falling asleep. The rooms could use a makeover. I didn't like that they provide you with incredibly cheap toilet paper. It hurts!

Our room was really noisy. We were on the first floor and could hear the people upstairs, people in the halls, cars driving by outside, and there was a weird constant high pitch beeping that we couldn't trace.

The location was fairly central to everywhere we needed to be in Palm Springs and Palm Desert. There is a Trader Joe's and a Target nearby which helped stock our kitchen.

Overall the Welk resort was a decent place to stay but nothing special.

Room Tip: Avoid the bottom floor, you can hear your upstairs neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a fortnight here after exchanging with RCI.
As this was a trip celebrating my retirement and 60th birthday we had a requested a golf course view which the resort was able to arrange for us.
We had a wonderful 2 weeks here,the apartment we were in had been refurbished and was very spacious,the beds were very comfortable and the suite had nice linens and plenty of towels.
The pool area was spotlessly clean and the breakfast sandwiches from the pool cabana are to die for!
The staff at the resort are friendly and very helpful.As for location we found it very convenient with lots of shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welk Resort Desert Oasis boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.