We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parents' Night Out. Need I say more?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cathedral City
Long Beach, Calif
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Parents' Night Out. Need I say more?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Booked this place as a companion to our extended vacation in August as a quicker, cheaper get-away for a few days to the desert. We love Palm Springs, and wanted to find a place we could take the kids and not end up hating ourselves and them by the end of the trip.

The "apartment" was pretty well-appointed, but what was frustrating was that they totally clean the fridge and cabinets out in between each guest, so there were no leftover condiments, etc. -- just the packets of sugar and things for the morning's coffee. I love the idea of hand-me-down ketchup, what can I say?

The pool is clean, and the clientele at the place is warm and friendly -- my kids (boys, 4 & 7) made quick friends. We also used their activity center on Parents' Night Out -- where we paid a total of $25 for the teenage counselors who work the place to take our children off our hands for four hours. Yes friends -- four hours. They even gave them dinner.

Used the fitness room as well, which was adequate -- not super modern, but had all the essentials there in free weights, elliptical, stationery bike and treadmill.

Would highly recommend for that on-the-cheaper-side quick getaway, and definitely request a pool-side room; I got that tip early-on, called the day before we arrived and it paid off.

No hard sell on the time share deal either except upon check-in. Tell them your kid needs to use the potty and you have to go. Worked like a charm.

Room Tip: Call one day ahead and ask for pool-side/pool-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    55
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
56
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at desert oasis resort for one night but wished it could have been more. It's more like an apartment than a hotel room. Very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, WV
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were traveling and just needed a place to stay for the night. I used hotels.com and got a room for $145 for one night here. That was a steal for this place. We basically got a time share which had a living room, kitchen, and king size bedroom. Our deck overlooked the adjoining golf course. My wife went to the pool, which she enjoyed, and I went to play golf. I was shocked to find out that green fees (after noon), cart rental, club rental, and a six pack was under $55!!! The crowd here was mostly older and families, which I enjoyed because were looking to relax during our stay. The room was super clean. Everything was very modern and the bed was extremely comfortable. This was a Welks resort, so I'll be keeping an eye out for these whenever I'm traveling in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This resort dose not have elevators and carrying your luggage up the step stairs is not fun . Rooms ok but some items do not work in them . stupid things like the TV remote not working . Food just ok . When you check in they will try and sell you on the property . I rate tis a thumbs down.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We rented from a timeshare owner over Spring Break and had a great time. We liked that it is a smaller, 3-story resort, the room was very well furnished and comfortable, the grounds, and view of the mountains, was beautiful, and we loved all of the activities and things to do.

Unit: All the units there are 1-bedrooms. Ours was good-sized, with classy updated furnishings, great kitchen w/ lots of storage and everything you need. We loved our location in Room 560 - right near the activity center and overlooking the pool and beautifully landscaped courtyard. As other reviewers have noted, a LOT of the rooms overlook the parking lot; only a few dozen overlook the pool/courtyard, and a fair amount have a nice view of the golf course and mountains (I'm sure I wouldn't have rated it as high if we were in a parkling-lot view room).

Activities - there were tons of planned activities throughout the day, every day. We took part in the morning walk around the neighborhood (free), the water aerobics (free; ok; instructor wasn't great); ping pong tournament, stained glass candle making ($5), decorative coat hanger painting ($4), bird house and tote bag painting ($7) the free face-painting, free coffee on the weekend, dive-in movie at the pool w/ popcorn and snacks available, champagne Welk-um, and Parents Night Out (twice/week) - just $15 for 1st child, $10 for additional siblings, 6-10 pm, and it included dinner and activities - very cool!

Activity center - was perfect for kids - 2 ping pong tables, 2 pool tables, air hockey, lots of games and puzzles to check-out, DVDs for rent, Wii, crafts. 2 computers with free internet access and printers (very convenient); fitness center at the back of the activity center wasn't fancy, but had several cardio machines and weights.

Facilities - two pools, jacuzzi, tennis courts, my husband played on the Cathedral Canyon golf course there and liked it (just $29 w/ cart), clubhouse restaurant (generally closes at 6pm), horseshoe pits, and a basketball hoop in the parking lot. There was a snack bar at the poolw/ reasonable prices, but the food we tried was not very good, with the exception of the $2.50 chicken tenders for the kids. They also had root beer floats or build-your-own sundae nearly every afternoon for just $2.50-$3 (yum) and happy hour pool-side 3:30-6. Service was very friendly and accommodating.

Nearby attractions - we loved Knott's Soak City nearby (online discounts available, or get a season pass for just $49 which you can also use at Soak Cities in San Diego and Orange County); Boomers right down the street (mini golf, rock wall, bumper cars, bumper boats, video arcade); Vons and Trader Joe's nearby. Not too impressed w/ the Thursday night Village Fest downtown (just an average farmer's market), but loved the Palm Springs Art museum (free every Thur. 4-8 pm). Also really enjoyed the Living Desert, w/ many flowers blooming, and the kids loved feeding the giraffes, riding a camel, and the butterfly pavilion where we were surrounded by beautiful butterflies and hummingbirds. Overall, a great family trip.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard/pool or golf course/mtn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We had never been to the Lawrence Welk resort in Palm Springs and were very happy with our stay. The timeshare had 2 flat screen TV's and everything we needed. The pool was pleasant and there was plenty of room although it was not crowded at this time. It was great to be able to use the internet in the activity room to check my emails. I thought the resort was convenient to everywhere we wanted to go. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We booked a one bedroom the week of Dec 17-24. The resort is overlooking a golf course and adjacent to a tennis club. The area is nice and quiet but you need a car to be able to get to other attractions. If you want to play tennis you need to get a weekly pass for $50 and a fee for rackets rental (we brought our own). The room s is comfortable and has lots of space. We used the walk-in closet as our son's bedroom so everyone had there own space. The game room has two Ping Pong and two pool tables so the waiting time is minimal. Over all the place is not fancy but clean, friendly and well kept

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welk Resort Desert Oasis boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.