We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort to your Saves list
Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   67967 Vista Chino, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Doral Desert Princess Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Service was great during my entire stay. The room was also very nice and clean. I was there for a tennis event and it was a wonderful hotel due to the close proximity to the tennis courts. The location is beautiful. Travel from LAX is a valid alternative.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    106
    94
    35
    22
See reviews for
85
95
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm sure in its heyday the resort was great but now all that's left is a place in desperate need of a refurb. The bar fridge in the room had rusty slats in the door, the pool loungers had broken slats and the carpets were heavily stained both in the room and common areas the resort. The TV's were also from the dark ages - not a big deal b/c it worked but you get the picture. On the plus side the staff were all pleasant.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alecia W, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Pinkblonde,

Thank you for the recent stay and review of the hotel. I hope you had a pleasant stay with us. I agree, the staff on property are great! I am happy to say we have a lot of amazing changes to come to the property in the very near future that I think anyone who stays with us will enjoy. I hope we can see you again to have a great time with us.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuba City, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has beds that make it feel like you are laying on boards all night long!! I hate this hotel and never will stay at this hotel ever again. The hotel should change its name to Motel 6!!! The appearance is okay but the first night I complained about the hotel bed and they said that's all they had. The room drapes had blood on it. The room was muggy when we first entered. The hotel scenery was nice but please upgrade your hotel rooms. So disappointed!!!!

Room Tip: Never stay here until they do some major upgrades to the rooms. Unless you like sleeping on boards a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alecia W, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Greta R,

I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. I agree we have some great views, and our rooms are showing our age. I am very excited to say we have upgrades in the very near future for the whole property, that once completed, I am positive you will find to your liking. I hope we will see you again to experience the hotel in a new light. Contact the hotel if you decide you would like to try us out again. I can assure you we are absolutely amazing!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Air conditioner had a noise on the last night and we couldn't sleep, overall service was good, the goose woke me up in the morning, but my daughter liked it because they had eggs on a nest on top of the pool bar. But maintenance removed the eggs, also the goose was swimming and poking inside the pool

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alecia W, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Bellezalatina,

I hope you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff pride themselves on providing the best service to our guests that we can to ensure a great stay.

I do apologize for the geese and ducks, one of the side effects of being on a golf course is dealing with the birds. We do our best to try and keep them out of the water.

I hope we can see you again for any of your palm springs and Coachella valley stays.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel and surrounding golf course was beautiful!! So much green w/ the desert mountains in the background... Breathtaking! My boyfriend loves golf... He played as soon as we arrived while I watched & drive the cart. He played w/ both out of towners and locals were both were very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was a normal hotel room... Nothing special. It has a mini fridge which is convenient; however, no microwave... So don't bring leftovers back to the room unless you eat it cold. Hotel was in a convenient location.... Starbucks and grocery store right across the street. Freeway is right down the street.
Only bad, is the 1st night we were woken up by a strong smell of cigarettes. Our patio door was never opened and since it was so strong in the bathroom too... It had to have been coming thru the vents (we had our ac on). I have REALLY bad allergies to cigarette smoke... So, it put a bad damper on my morning and eff sting me the rest of the day. The 2nd, night/morning... No issues:)

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alecia W, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi icebox0009,

I agree, we have some amazing views and a great course! I am pleased to hear you and your boyfriend had an enjoyable time while staying with us and visiting the Palm Springs Valley.

I apologize for the smell, as we are a non smoking hotel and you should never have had a smell to begin with.

We look forward to having you again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect location,great view of golf course from our room,extremly friendly personal,beautiful landscape,nice room. Cannot overlook dirty carpet,especialy around cofee maker,and dead bugs around sliding door in the room. It also may be time to replace towels,find some softer.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alecia W, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello 011BGD,

Thank you for your recent stay and review! We always appreciate knowing how we are doing.

I do apologize for the carpeting, we are an older hotel with some deep staining. I am happy to announce that we have a renovation planned for the near future where everything will be replaced and be fresh and new.

I hope we can see you again once completed where I am sure you will find the hotel much to your liking.

Our views and staff will continue to be as great as ever.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great views. There are lots of things to do. I love the pool, lots of room. The very quiet and peaceful. The beds are really comfortable and nice. The rooms are very nice and clean. It is in a great location to grab Starbucks and take a nice stroll around the hotel.

Room Tip: I loved this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alecia W, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Angelina365!

I am so happy to hear you had a great time with us! I agree, there are a lot of great features on and around the property! We have some stunning views and are centrally located, that anywhere you want or need to go is not far at all. Having a Starbucks and shopping center across the street is very convenient.

I hope we can see you again when you come to the valley. We have some great plans in the works that will make us even better.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort

Address: 67967 Vista Chino, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Doral Desert Princess Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a quiet weekend getaway or a productive business trip, the Desert Princess Golf Resort offers the perfect blend of business and leisure amenities. Surrounded by majestic mountain views, just minutes from downtown Palm Springs, the Doral features 285 guest rooms & suites, 27 holes of championship golf, an Olympic size swimming pool, two hot tubs & over 23,000 sq. ft. of technologically inspired meeting space. The perfect getaway once it's time to get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Desert Princess Resort Palm Springs Hotel Cathedral City
Doral Desert Princess Cathedral City
Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort Cathedral City, California Desert, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.