We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD in Desperate need of an upgrade!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort to your Saves list
Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   67967 Vista Chino, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Doral Desert Princess Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OLD in Desperate need of an upgrade!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I took my boyfriend for his birthday since he loves to play golf. We arrived and I was grateful they allowed early check-in. The room key did not work, I went to the front desk they gave me another key, the 2nd room key did not work, this time he walked to the front desk, the third key did not work, they moved us to another room and that key did not work either. Maintenance man came and let us into room. The carpet had a huge water stain, it looked as if there was a flood and the room smelled. They moved us back to the original room and the maintenance man changed the battery on the door and checked the key. The hotel needs renovating BAD! the curtains are tattered, the TV is old, the furniture is stained, tattered and old, and the refrigerator is in the bathroom. (yes the bathroom). We left the room for lunch and came back to find the key card did not work again. So when we came back from dinner later we had another maintenance man walk us back to the room to unlock and he cleaned out the slot for the key card and told us it was working however we were afraid to go out again. The only compensation they gave us was a free breakfast the morning we checked in and a comment from the manager to contact her if we come back and she "will try to do something for us, if she is still working there" Although my boyfriend loved the golf course and I loved the comfortable bed and view, I will be looking into other resorts in the area. I feel with the proper upgrades this could or use to be a great resort. Nothing was taken off my bill and as a matter of fact they are still holding $50 against my credit card for incidentals (which we did not incur ) A discount on our room, another comp meal, a voucher for a return trip something anything offered to make us come back would have been appreciated, I feel so cheated :(

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
I apologize your concerns with your door lock were not rectified in a timely and acceptable manner. Though our property is dated we do strive to provide a clean, friendly, maintained environment while still providing an outstanding value and sadly it appears from your experience we failed miserably. If your travel do bring you back to our area please contact me directly so I may personally attend to your flawless visit. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    75
    53
    15
    10
See reviews for
49
62
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The views here are as beautiful as the website and the two members of staff we saw during our three night stay were very friendly and helpful. Our corner suite room was huge,clean and very cheap so we couldn't complain...BUT it was a bit wierd staying in a large hotel with virtually no other guests. We should have been told at the time of booking ( on the phone) that the restaurant and bar were closed. We did have lunch after golf in the club house and it was really great.
We can't understand why the hotel was so empty as it was buzzing in Palm Springs...maybe becuase there is a major renovation planned but that's not till next summer?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Generally this time of year is quiet except during the weekends. The hot summer days tend to send visitors west to the beach. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and the serenity we provided. We hope you will return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The management and staff of desert princess played an important part in making my engagement a success.

They were very accomodating and supportive with all our needs.

The room was amazing and more than what we expected. We had the most memorable and confortable stay.


Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Congratulations!!! It was such a pleasure working with you on the phone prior to you popping the big question. I am happy to read you enjoyed our upgrade to a suite. Please remember we are an outstanding venue to host a wedding and reception. Please keep us in mind and we await your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had been traveling all day. We had suffered two blow out tires on the freeway. Decided to stop and stay in Palm Springs and cut our losses. When we arrived at the Desert Princess, we were greeted with a warm hello from a wonderful desk clerk named Yessica. She made all of our problems go away.
After helping us with every request we had, we entered our beautiful pool-view room. The
hotel was beautiful, quiet, very clean, and great for the price. The great service we received made this one of our favorite places. We will be back for sure,

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We are all so happy to read about your outstanding experience and will share your accolades with Yessica! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We arrived mid week. Nobody and I mean NOBODY was in the hotel. This was kind of weird and unsettling. There was one person working at the front desk and she was friendly. Every restaurant and bar was closed so we couldn't use any of the on site facilities. That was a major bummer. The rooms were decent, very basic but worked. The refrigerator and coffee maker in the bathroom was kind of gross. Our refrigerators door was falling off. The pool was dirty but still swimmable. There was a lot of wind to blow leaves and dirt into the pool. My kids enjoyed the pool regardless. I would stay here again but not for any amount higher than what we paid through the Groupon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for recognizing our outstanding value. The desert is quiet and relaxing this time year. We are glad to read you and your children enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I found this hotel through a Groupon promotion and decided to book for my husbands and me for our birthdays. The hotel was nice - outdated, but nice. The location was easy to find and central to shopping and great restaurants and a movie theater (Maracas Mexican food nearby and Otori Sushi are great). The pool is very nice and has a great little bar for refreshments. The room quality was okay. The TV is very old and kept freezing on the movie selection page. The shower handle in the bathroom was broken - we had to maneuver it into position for it to turn on. Overall, we had a nice weekend though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I will ensure Engineering follows up on your comments and corrects the problem with the shower handle. We hope you will return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hotel staff was fairly kind but they provided us with coupons for the spa so we could use them the next day but the spa wasn't even open. Website states amenities like a spa and restaurant but they weren't open for the entirety of our stay, Pool stayed open late for us which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Manager at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I apologize for the misinformation. Due to the nature of the off season, the Sis open for appointments only as there is not an attendant during off peak times. Leave a message on the Spa voicemail and you will receive a phone call to book your treatment. I will review this with the team to ensure this does not occur in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort

Address: 67967 Vista Chino, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Doral Desert Princess Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a quiet weekend getaway or a productive business trip, the Desert Princess Golf Resort offers the perfect blend of business and leisure amenities. Surrounded by majestic mountain views, just minutes from downtown Palm Springs, the Doral features 285 guest rooms & suites, 27 holes of championship golf, an Olympic size swimming pool, two hot tubs & over 23,000 sq. ft. of technologically inspired meeting space. The perfect getaway once it's time to get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Desert Princess Resort Palm Springs Hotel Cathedral City
Doral Desert Princess Cathedral City
Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.