We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort to your Saves list
Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   67967 Vista Chino, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Doral Desert Princess Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Overall, our stay at the Desert Princess Golf Resort was a good one. The room was clean and comfortable, had a great view of the pool, golf course, and surrounding mountains. The pool was clean and heated and we would come back for sure. The only nits I have is the resort is starting to show its age a bit (soundproofing could be better, popcorn ceilings, CRT TV, etc.) and is a bit away from restaurants and activities, but those are not that big of a deal to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I am so happy to read you had a great time while staying with us. We look forward to you returning after we renovate to enjoy our updated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    106
    94
    36
    22
See reviews for
85
95
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I am not sure if all the rooms have a view of the golf course or mountains, but ours was wonderful, so relaxing to sit on the balcony and relax. We did not use any of the facilities. We were at a business meeting and the food served was very good with a very attentive employee base.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. I agree you cannot beat the view and it is so worth it to book a room with a view. You can't improve on Mother Nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We along with several other guests we encounted had issues getting our room keys to work and had issues with the outside entrances
The bed was hard and the pillows were flat, we asked for more pillows and slept better the second night of our stay

Room Tip: Had to ask for more pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I apologize you had issues with your key cards not operating correctly I understand from experience how frustrating this can be. We have called a technician to resolve this issue. I was glad to read your had a restful stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I did enjoy our view of the golf course from our corner suite although it was quite far away from the parking lot. I would like to try a corner suite on the other side of the resort facing the road with a balcony also I prefer being able to use the stairways instead of the elevators. Our room was right by a stairwell however it was alarmed so we were not able to use them.

Room Tip: Bring a door stop to hold the door open while you bring your luggage into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words!

We are always so happy to read when we exceed our guests' expectations. We await your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor City, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The resort was great, room & bathroom was clean, view of the golf course was wonderful all of the employee was great and I was given and upgrade with no charge. I will be back to visit very soon. I will be back to visit soon. Only was there for 1 night. I will return with family and friends in the summer, hope to be able to enjoy the pool and resturant.


Room Tip: Everything was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We cannot wait to welcome you back this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The room was just okay. It was most likely a nice room in 1989 but not much has changed since then. The room was quite but one side light didn't work and the TV was old tube style that wasn't very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments. This summer we will be renovating the resort and replacing all the televisions. Come back next year for the Tour of Palm Springs and enjoy our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were here for the century ride in February and and found availability at Desert Princess. We have been doing the ride since '04 and this was the best rate we have paid for a room on this busy weekend ever. We felt the rate and quality were well matched and after the DP completes her update it will be a great resort.

Room Tip: Room was cleaner then it looked. As you know it is tired. Rm. 160 the refrigerator needs to be def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for recognizing us as a great value in the Coachella Valley. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for the Tour de Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort

Address: 67967 Vista Chino, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Doral Desert Princess Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a quiet weekend getaway or a productive business trip, the Desert Princess Golf Resort offers the perfect blend of business and leisure amenities. Surrounded by majestic mountain views, just minutes from downtown Palm Springs, the Doral features 285 guest rooms & suites, 27 holes of championship golf, an Olympic size swimming pool, two hot tubs & over 23,000 sq. ft. of technologically inspired meeting space. The perfect getaway once it's time to get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Groupon, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Desert Princess Resort Palm Springs Hotel Cathedral City
Doral Desert Princess Cathedral City
Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort Cathedral City, California Desert, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.