We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort to your Saves list
Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   67967 Vista Chino, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Doral Desert Princess Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The desert princess hotel in Cathedral City is a large hotel-a little tricky to find because there are two other Desert Princess properties.The driveway actually is on Landau, although the address is Vista Chino. The rooms are spacious and the views of the mountains (facing the golf course) are really lovely. Balconies, small fridge in room. A staff member told us they are doing a big re-model next year. The TV's are old, but were ok for us. There is a large pool and plenty of lounges. Two hot tubs. There is a full bar by the pool although the person who serves also has to go pick up food from the restaurant-however it wasn't big deal. The hotel has a spa and restaurant, bar. which we did not use.
Quiet and very nice staff. We ate next door at Leon's which has a remarkable Sunday brunch with unlimited champagne for the bargain price of 23 bucks! And outside dining with a magnificent view of mountains.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the golf course side.Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you so much for the kind words and for sharing your experience with us. We greatly appreciate the accolades and look forward to your next visit.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    107
    96
    39
    28
See reviews for
89
100
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We got a good deal for this hotel from Expedia. The hotel is not in the nicest part of the Palm Springs area, in Cathedral City. The view is gorgeous however, with the golf course, ponds and the mountain in the background. We found out after we had booked the room that the golf course was closed. The room is dated. The carpet and drapes were stained. The bed mattress was old and lacked support.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments!

I see you enjoyed the view from your room but am concerned your room was not cleaned to our usual standards and for this I apologize. Admitted we are a little dated and hope to rectify this in the very near future but we do pride ourselves in maintaining a clean environment and it appears we failed on this account. If your travels bring you back to our area please contact me directly so I can personally ensure a flawless visit.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel setting is very pretty, nestled behind a wall of beautiful palm trees and surrounded by a vivid green golf course... that is where the beauty ends.

My son and I stayed in a one bedroom suite that looked like something out of the 60's - we think the carpet is the original carpet, stained and very dirty. The walls are covered with scuff marks and dirty hand prints, and the bathrooms are dingy, tired, and worn out. The air conditioner controls are like nothing I have ever seen before - a dial to adjust from cold to warm (no specific temperature) and a switch to turn the fan from high to low to off... and no matter how we tried to adjust it, the fans rattled and the closet door shook from the vibration.

But it gets worse!

The beds - the pull out sofa bed in the family room is nothing more than a thin spring mattress, and when you lay down all you feel are the bars in your back. The king size bed in the bedroom has seen better days. It too is a spring mattress - probably an original design from the 60's - and the most uncomfortable bed I have ever experienced. In an attempt to cushion the mattress, we gathered all of the blankets we could find and layered them on top - it didn't help much. The fitted sheet doesn't fit the mattress and kept popping off - that was when we discovered that the mattress pad is nothing more than a paper thin pad of cotton, covering a yellow stained mattress. YUCK!!!!

And if you have kids that travel with their gaming systems, forget about it! The TV's are so old that they cannot accommodate today's technology!

It's amazing how this property can slap the word "resort" in their name. So if you are looking to save a few bucks, choose wisely!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Greetings,

I was saddened to read of your less than perfect stay with us. Admittedly the resort's decor is a little dated but we do pride ourselves in operating a clean and friendly full service golf resort at a reasonable price. I wish I had the opportunity to speak to you personally before you departed. I would have liked to share our plans for a multi-million dollar renovation which is scheduled to begin this fall as I believe these improvements would address many of your concerns. If you would like to discuss your stay with personally please feel free to contact me.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel was nice enough. It was a little dated, definitely not luxury, but had everything we needed. Staff were friendly. The real attraction was the on-property golf -- 3 very nice 9-hole layouts. We had a great time on the course ... marred only slightly by the attitude of one of the golf staff who approached us on the first tee of our second 9 and was very aggressive in telling us we had to finish by 7pm (we ignored him as it was still perfectly light by then).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. I will share your comments with the team so we can make improvements in the attitude of all our associates. Overall it seems you enjoyed your stay and we hope you visit again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful resort in July and it was really quiet. and serene. We enjoyed excellent service, very clean well appointed room and the pool area is fantastic. Set on a golf course the outlook is tranquil and the location is excellent for reaching all areas of Palm Springs.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director Of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I was so happy to read the facilities and service exceeded your expectations. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The grounds of DPR were stunning. Fresh flowers, elegant. The staff was especially welcoming, helpful and warm. A diamond in the desert! We felt special and pampered while we were there. The resort is easy to get to from the freeway and centrally located near attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: There is likely no bad room at this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I was so happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share this with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked this hotel based strictly on their ratings. We visit Palm Springs often and were looking to find something affordable but a bit nicer than the local Motel 6. Well wow was I pleasantly surprised! We were on an anniversary trip so I splurged a bit by booking one of the corner suites. Definitely worth the extra bit of money. Very affordable for this time of year (Oct). And very close to the downtown strip area (maybe 10 min drive).

Based on what I had read before booking, I was already aware that the décor would be dated and it was. Very 80's Miami Vice. But I was cool with that if it meant a nice view and amenities. And that's exactly what we got. Hotel staff was very pleasant & quick upon check-in. Once we got to our room we walked into a very large living room/dining area. Lots of space. A pull-out bed couch. A sink & refrigerator made storing some of our own adult beverages much easier. My only complaint would be that it would have been nice to have a microwave. But it didn't deter from the experience.

The bedroom had a very large & comfortable king sized bed with the large balcony/patio area right off of it. The balcony actually spanned the entire suite which was fantastic! And the view from ours was beautiful! Ponds, golf course, plenty of palm trees and a gorgeous view of the mountains. So nice!

There were two bathrooms in the suite. One in the main living room area which was just a sink & toilet. Nice space in it but the toilet didn't flush well. The main bathroom had a double sink and a large closet with ironing board & iron if needed. The shower/toilet were in a separate room from the sinks which was nice. Only complaint being the horrid water pressure in the shower. Next time we are going to ask for a suite on one of the other floors in hopes that maybe the pressure is better there (we stayed in 327).

Overall I was very happy with this hotel and room. Yes, the décor is beyond dated and a bit worn but the space and view and huge balcony more than make up for it! I would definitely recommend this hotel and we are already planning another trip here.

Room Tip: The corner suites are great! We stayed in 327 which faces away from the pool so all you see is the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much!

We appreciate you sharing your experience at the Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort. I was happy to read you found the staff warm and efficient and that you enjoyed the unparalleled views of the golf course and San Jacinto mountains from the wrap around balcony of your suite. Admittedly our décor is dated but we do use your comments as an indicator of what areas we should focus on as we continue to make improvements to the property. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort

Address: 67967 Vista Chino, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Doral Desert Princess Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a quiet weekend getaway or a productive business trip, the Desert Princess Golf Resort offers the perfect blend of business and leisure amenities. Surrounded by majestic mountain views, just minutes from downtown Palm Springs, the Doral features 285 guest rooms & suites, 27 holes of championship golf, an Olympic size swimming pool, two hot tubs & over 23,000 sq. ft. of technologically inspired meeting space. The perfect getaway once it's time to get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Desert Princess Resort Palm Springs Hotel Cathedral City
Doral Desert Princess Cathedral City
Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort Cathedral City, California Desert, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.