We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guys golf weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort to your Saves list
Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   67967 Vista Chino, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Doral Desert Princess Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Pasadena, California
1 review
“Guys golf weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel was nice enough. It was a little dated, definitely not luxury, but had everything we needed. Staff were friendly. The real attraction was the on-property golf -- 3 very nice 9-hole layouts. We had a great time on the course ... marred only slightly by the attitude of one of the golf staff who approached us on the first tee of our second 9 and was very aggressive in telling us we had to finish by 7pm (we ignored him as it was still perfectly light by then).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. I will share your comments with the team so we can make improvements in the attitude of all our associates. Overall it seems you enjoyed your stay and we hope you visit again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    106
    94
    36
    22
See reviews for
85
95
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful resort in July and it was really quiet. and serene. We enjoyed excellent service, very clean well appointed room and the pool area is fantastic. Set on a golf course the outlook is tranquil and the location is excellent for reaching all areas of Palm Springs.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director Of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I was so happy to read the facilities and service exceeded your expectations. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The grounds of DPR were stunning. Fresh flowers, elegant. The staff was especially welcoming, helpful and warm. A diamond in the desert! We felt special and pampered while we were there. The resort is easy to get to from the freeway and centrally located near attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: There is likely no bad room at this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I was so happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share this with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked this hotel based strictly on their ratings. We visit Palm Springs often and were looking to find something affordable but a bit nicer than the local Motel 6. Well wow was I pleasantly surprised! We were on an anniversary trip so I splurged a bit by booking one of the corner suites. Definitely worth the extra bit of money. Very affordable for this time of year (Oct). And very close to the downtown strip area (maybe 10 min drive).

Based on what I had read before booking, I was already aware that the décor would be dated and it was. Very 80's Miami Vice. But I was cool with that if it meant a nice view and amenities. And that's exactly what we got. Hotel staff was very pleasant & quick upon check-in. Once we got to our room we walked into a very large living room/dining area. Lots of space. A pull-out bed couch. A sink & refrigerator made storing some of our own adult beverages much easier. My only complaint would be that it would have been nice to have a microwave. But it didn't deter from the experience.

The bedroom had a very large & comfortable king sized bed with the large balcony/patio area right off of it. The balcony actually spanned the entire suite which was fantastic! And the view from ours was beautiful! Ponds, golf course, plenty of palm trees and a gorgeous view of the mountains. So nice!

There were two bathrooms in the suite. One in the main living room area which was just a sink & toilet. Nice space in it but the toilet didn't flush well. The main bathroom had a double sink and a large closet with ironing board & iron if needed. The shower/toilet were in a separate room from the sinks which was nice. Only complaint being the horrid water pressure in the shower. Next time we are going to ask for a suite on one of the other floors in hopes that maybe the pressure is better there (we stayed in 327).

Overall I was very happy with this hotel and room. Yes, the décor is beyond dated and a bit worn but the space and view and huge balcony more than make up for it! I would definitely recommend this hotel and we are already planning another trip here.

Room Tip: The corner suites are great! We stayed in 327 which faces away from the pool so all you see is the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much!

We appreciate you sharing your experience at the Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort. I was happy to read you found the staff warm and efficient and that you enjoyed the unparalleled views of the golf course and San Jacinto mountains from the wrap around balcony of your suite. Admittedly our décor is dated but we do use your comments as an indicator of what areas we should focus on as we continue to make improvements to the property. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The property is split up into many areas so while there this time on business we were able to sneak away and have alone time. The meeting rooms were top rated, the bathrooms were very cleaned. The front desk staff was very knowledgable about happenings in the area. We were able to take the shuttle to shopping/street faire. Within walking distance there was shops, coffee and fast food. We had many breakfasts in the restaurant. It was very good and great quality of food and presentation but just a tad overpriced. Gift shop inside hotel was awesome it had a little bit of everything. The pool and grounds were well kept. Our room was the right size with a great view. Room service and maid staff very nice. The hallways and elevators very clean and smelled good. The parking lot was secure and lighted.

Room Tip: There are rooms closer to the meeting rooms and then some closer to front desk area. I would pick c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Greetings,

WOW! Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. I will be sure to share your accolades with the entire team. WE look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The last 4 times in Palm Springs I stayed here. The first time was by accident we booked Hilton through Expedia and the Hilton moved us to doral princess. The pool is great very big and spacious always has enough chairs and beds. Water is warm. I did not use the jacuzzi however. Food has improved since the first time I was there. It's a perfect resort style hotel for a getaway , it's great for families and anyone just want to relax and use the pool for a nve weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Director of Rooms at Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Greetings,

I am so happy you stumbled upon us and have continued to choose us for accommodations whenever your travels bring you to our area. I was happy to read you enjoyed staying here and Chef was happy to learn you have seen the improvements in food quality. I look forward to meeting you personally during your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort

Address: 67967 Vista Chino, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Doral Desert Princess Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a quiet weekend getaway or a productive business trip, the Desert Princess Golf Resort offers the perfect blend of business and leisure amenities. Surrounded by majestic mountain views, just minutes from downtown Palm Springs, the Doral features 285 guest rooms & suites, 27 holes of championship golf, an Olympic size swimming pool, two hot tubs & over 23,000 sq. ft. of technologically inspired meeting space. The perfect getaway once it's time to get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Groupon, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Desert Princess Resort Palm Springs Hotel Cathedral City
Doral Desert Princess Cathedral City
Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort Cathedral City, California Desert, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Princess Palm Springs Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.