We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36101 Date Palm Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Erskine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

One night stay which if we had known about the quality would have planned additional nights.
Great location. Excellent welcome and made to feel special and provided with advice on local amenities. Given upgraded room which was super in size, facilities and overlooked the pool area and the distant mountains. The room had two desks, comfortable seating areas, a sofa, small kitchen area and a separate bathroom.
Made use of the pool which was needed given the heat and to allow us to relax having driven across from San Diego. Very quiet as it was midweek and out of the busy season. We had an excellent nights sleep and woke afresh for our travel across the Mojave.
Breakfast included in the price was the best we have been offered in our two month holiday trip. Quality food, great choices and healthy options.
This is a star of a hotel and superior quality to our normal experience of a Holiday Inn Express. Which I have to say has always been good.

Room Tip: Avoid weekends. The deal we got was because it was a quiet midweek stay. Tends to be booked out at w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    66
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
52
58
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Emmen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

we arrived quite late in the evening but with a reservation. The check-in went really quick and our room was clean and big. The outside pool is open until 11 pm so we could hear some noise but after 11 pm it was really silent. Breaktfast was nice and the room was just in front of the pool so there was a nie view. I didn't expect such a wide range of food. We found everything very good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had a wedding to attend to at a hotel nearby and this was the best location for the value! Our room was beautiful and modern with a king and sofabed and soo spacious! There was free hot breakfast too which included eggs, pancake machine, bacon, biscuits and gravy, cereal, coffee, yogurt, etc. Great value for the stay and the breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this location for a short notice business trip and I was pleasantly surprised. Though I passed this hotel initially because the entrance is not easy to see at first, I did see it on my second pass. From my check-in to my check-out the staff was exceptional. The lobby was very well appointed and my room was exceptionally well decorated. Everything seemed new. There were some very good points to this hotel and that included the pool and hot tub. I have some severe mobility problems and the hot tub was just right for me. It was quiet at my level of room. Another set of assets of this hotel and location is that: a, it was a quick drive from the Palm Springs international airport, b. there were plenty of restaurants located within a half mile of the hotel, c. it is close to the business and tourist districts of both Cathedral City and Palm Springs, however a better value than Palm Springs, and d. I have to give cudos to the staff again and again. On the downside the better tourist district is Palm Springs and anyone with common sense knows that this is not walkable, you must have a car. I will definitely do this hotel again when I have business in the area. The hot complimentary breakfast was also a plus because the dining room looks out on the pool area and has a good view of the lobby through glass wall/doors.

Room Tip: I would definitely stay away from first floor rooms, but this hotel is quiet and the beds are superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is really something else. Don't stay here. I have been booking thru Expedia for years and always had good service from Hotels. As soon as they saw my reservation was via Expedia, they placed us on the 1st floor room for disabled guests. This first floor room is next to pool and a side exit. It is really loud and the shower develops puddles on the bathroom floor. I tried to change rooms since I overheard the front desk staff tell a guest that they can move if they like. However, for me, they said 'no' that a got a 'run of the house' room with the 'cheap rate'. How insulting, this was said in front of my wife and other guests. How do you respond to that? We did not want to argue so we left all afternoon to Palm Springs hoping by the time we came back the people at the pool would be gone. The noises continued since the room was by the exit door until 1:30 am or so. Hence, no sleep! No apology was given at any point, in fact, I was told that I should of booked through them. Don't stay here unless you like bad customer service or like being treated like second class guest with no rest.

Room Tip: Don't let them place you on the 1st floor. If they do, just check out. You will get more rest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Uli G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is unfortunate service issues prevented you from fully enjoying your time at our hotel. We would like to address this further and have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It took me a long time to decide which hotel to stay in during this trip to the Palm Springs area. I read all the reviews and finally settled on this Holiday Inn. It was very easy to find from the freeway and we liked the hotel very much. The check-in person was very helpful and gave us the top floor room we had requested - it did face the car park which was a shame but it was quiet. The room was nice, the bed comfortable, the bathroom was really quite big. We had a fridge in the room which was much appreciated. Breakfast was fine, quite a lot of choice and a free newspaper. The pool area was very nice. If I were to make any comment about the pool it would be that during busy times there are not enough chairs and umbrellas for shade available. We were lucky because during the week it was like having our own private pool but at the week-end it was impossible to find a bed. Cathedral City is quieter than Palm Springs but ideally situated for travelling around the area. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park do not get the afternoon sun but tend to be a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Checking in was a breeze, great location [reasonable to Palm Springs], breakfast staff was nice [on one of the mornings, I arrived late but the attendant said no problem and got me some danishes and coffee] and the room was more than I was expecting.... I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Address: 36101 Date Palm Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Greater Palm Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.