We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservations Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of India Oven

India Oven
35875 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, CA 92234-6656
760-770-3918
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Reservations Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

It seems that it is rare to find Indian cuisine, let alone really delicious Indian food in the desert. If you enjoy a good chicken tikka masala, aloo matar, rice pulao, and naan, be sure to try India Oven. (Don't be put off by the menu's description of the exquisite buttery tomato sauce on the chicken dish as "gravy".) It's a small restaurant so avoid disappointment by calling ahead for a reservation. We noticed hopeful diners without reservations being turned away while we dined. The dining room is fairly intimate with a handful of booths and tables nicely dressed with tablecloths and candles. Savouring the delicious aromas from the kitchen and talking about the framed photos of Indian landmarks on the walls, we did not have to wait long for our dishes. Several Indian and non-alcohlic beers are also featured.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The BEST!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We've been going here since it opened. Absolutely the very best Indian food in the desert and probably in Southern California. Food is consistantly great, service is awesome and the small cozy atmosphere is perfect.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Above Standard but No Surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Reliable indian menu and flavors. We had murgh tika masala and it was slightly sweeter (not in a bad way) than the one we normally have at home, a bit shy on the amount of chicken but spice level was appropriate. We also had a lamb dish that was acceptable but not remarkable. Plain naan and garlic naan both were fine. The papadam were crispier and better than our standard place at home. Likewise, the samosa dough was flakier and the filling was tasty too. Servers were pleasant and attentive (tho a bit slow to get us our bill). Overall, good comfort food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“PRETTY BLAH EXPERIENCE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hm, not too sure about this little place. Ordered the lunch special, the vegetarian one. Pointed at the actual menu item.Was brought out a large plate full of soupy curries & a large piece of chicken on it. Sent it back. They waited 15 minutes, brought out THE EXACT SAME platter with same bad, soupy , WATERY curries & NO chicken on it. So it was cold. Meal made me incredibly sleepy..MSG or something ? Look, it wasn"t good. I suggest dining elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real and delicious Indian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Great food and service. Cute, quaint, clean and good. Good prices and large selection. Great for foodies.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Oven also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Cathedral City, California Desert
 

Been to India Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage India Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.