We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racist Staff Clerk :(” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3928 E. Castro Valley Blvd., Castro Valley, CA 94552   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castro Valley
Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Racist Staff Clerk :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I couldn't even stay here. The hotel clerk accused us of being under the influence and neither one of us smokes. I was so upset because we were so exhausted from work and we just wanted to relax. She was very rude and had a horrible attitude. I had asked her if she was refusing us service to due us being BLACK and she admitted yes. I was so upset and I could not believe it. When she could see that I was so shocked and upset she quickly changed her answer to no. She refused to give me her name when I asked for it. She also threatened to call the police. I informed her that I was going to call and let her manager know and she yelled and told me to leave. I called her manager today and informed him on what happened and he took my name and number and said he would contact after he after he spoke with her. I have yet to get a call back from him today. I will be calling back tomorrow and if nothing gets done I will contact 7 ON YOUR SIDE to let everyone know and to get this out. NO one should ever get treated like this. This is never okay. I will keep you guys posted on what happened. NEVER COME HERE!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    5
    9
    10
See reviews for
9
6
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Tx
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Room was clean. Location is a problem. The entrance driveway is almost impossible to turn left into since it is so close to the corner and you have to turn against three lanes of traffic sitting at the traffic light. Worse part is the free breakfast. There is no eating area in the lobby but it doesn't matter because there are only donuts for breakfast anyway. Just grab a donut and a cup of coffee and return to your room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

"Non-smoking Room" smelled like stale smoke. Toilet seat was filthy (was put up by housekeeping, but never cleaned), sheets on both beds had cigarette holes burned in them, sheet on one bed had a soiled spot. Thankfully I had my own blanket to sleep in so I didn't have to touch the sheets. ICK! Wish I had read the reviews before stopping here.

Room Tip: You can get a much accommodations someplace else for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

donuts and coffee in the morning, the rooms could have been cleaner, i had to check out 4 rooms before i could find one that did not stink like cigarettes, and it was very loud the other guest are rude, i could not use the a/c because people were standing near it outside smoking and the smell was coming in my room, i wont ever stay here again, i would rather sleep in my car.,

Room Tip: I don't think they have any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place has awful smells.It was supposed to be non smoking but had a strong odor from smoking and who knows what else.The room was not very clean either...there were various dirt and blood spots on the walls the carpet was dirty...ashes on the floor next to the nightstand.We stayed a second night only because we didn't want to try and find another place.The second nite we came back to a room that was barely cleaned and the sheets were not even changed.
I wonder if they were even changed before we got there! The continental breakfast was coffee and some poor quality donuts.The furniture was old and beat up and some lights and wall sockets didn't work.The only good thing was that the internet worked well.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We originally booked at another Hotel but couldn't believe the horrible accommodations. We drove around and not only did my Husband and I stay, but other family members as well. The Staff were incredibly helpful, the rooms were very nice and Clean. We showed last minute and they not only gave us a tour beforehand they graced us with our every want. I don't often write reviews, unless there bad. But I read the reviews on here previously and we chose another hotel because of them . Econo Lodge Turned out to be the best and great price. Goes to show people, like myself need to review not just small stuff, but also when it exceeds expectations! Whenever we go back down again, we're definitely staying at Econo Lodge Only!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This budget motel provided a useful stopover between a long transatlantic flight and the drive to Yosemite. We had a large bedroom and bathroom, which fortunately was away from the road, so very quiet. There was some old furniture and fittings, but the place was very clean. There is a light complimentary breakfast (doughnuts and coffee), which was welcome.

There isn't a lot to do in the vicinity, but the Safeway supermarket opposite was useful so we could stock up for our trip; a Subway sandwich shop is also located across the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3928 E. Castro Valley Blvd., Castro Valley, CA 94552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Castro Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castro Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Castro Valley
Econo Lodge Castro Valley
Castro Valley Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.