We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castro Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Castro Valley Inn to your Saves list
Castro Valley Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3954 E Castro Valley Blvd., Castro Valley, CA 94552   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Castro Valley
Palm Springs, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

My room was quiet, clean, charming and altogether perfect at an extremely low rate compared to going rates. I had absolutely no complaints.

  • Liked — Everything. I don't recommend it for children or pets to preserve the peace and quiet!
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
13
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

A second stay was booked at this hotel because the first experience in June 2004 was very nice. The hotel had recently opened before that visit. The April 2008 stay was nothing like the first visit. The bedding did not look clean as it was very dingy and didn't have a fresh scent. There were several other issues related to cleanliness of linens also. The owner definitely needs a course in dealing with the public as he is very unsocial. The curry still permeates the air in the office. The continental breakfast would be classified as a very light snack.

  • Liked — Closeness to Mother's apartment.
  • Disliked — The feeling of lack of cleanliness.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

On entering the reception area you are greeted by the strong smell of curry and the slightly less welcoming hosts (not rude or hostile, just not very friendly).

The rooms had basic amenities and were reasonably comfortable and clean, however there were no other amenities on site. There is a supermarket approximately 200 metres away but most of the restaurants
and the BART station are about a mile away. The BART takes about 35-40 minutes to reach downtown San Francisco. Overall, cheap no frills rooms in a reasonable location.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2004

Great new hotel that has many of the comforts that we have come to expect at a much higher price.Although the location is removed from what we came to see in the Bay Area (San Francisco and Sausalito) the savings on our hotel cost made it an easy decision to stay here. It is close to transportation so getting around was easy. Since the building is new (think it was built in late 2003) everything is spotless.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Valley
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Hayward
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Hayward Hotel
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro
10.1 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#10 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castro Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castro Valley Inn

Address: 3954 E Castro Valley Blvd., Castro Valley, CA 94552
Location: United States > California > Castro Valley
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Castro Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castro Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Castro Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castro Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.