We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My holidays in AKS Minoa Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKS Minoa Palace

Save Saved
You added AKS Minoa Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AKS Minoa Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amnissos, Karteros, Crete 715 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Karteros
Moscow
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My holidays in AKS Minoa Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had holidays in this hotel in June-July 2013. I travelled with my daughter 10 years old.
I was suprised greatly with clean and long beach, with clean and not deep sea near the beach. It is safed for children.
Rooms were cleaned every day, everything new: from umbrellars on the beach till the furniture and towels in the rooms.
The animator Dari is a great baby-sitter. She played with children with love and tolerance. Thank you very much, Dari!
The food in hotel is very tasty and useful. Andreas the chief cook of the hotel is a great person, with kind heart and golden hands. Every day before supper he asked wheather everyhting was good in food, that was prepeared during the day. Often he helped to choose smth and put himself on the plate. Children in hotel were crasy by him as he payed attention to them.
Minoa, thank you for everything!

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    67
    27
    15
    17
See reviews for
67
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hungary
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had to make a last minute rebooking and decided on this just based on availability so I wasn't expecting much. We arrived to find a typical resort style hotel with a very nice pool. Rooms were wee a bit on the small side but certainly adequate. WiFI, and important measure for me worked better than at any other hotel I've stayed at in Crete. The clean and sandy beach is a bit exposed which translates to a rough swim is the sea. They have a resort activity crew which means all the cheesy water aerobics, Zumba etc. Free afternoon snacks, very reasonable breakfast.

Wasn't really there long enough to comment on the facilities near the hotel but the resort is several km outside of Heraklion so you will have to plan to get there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We booked a last minute holiday via Thomson holidays website to the Minoa Palace Hotel- we were extremely pleased .and very surprised at previous critical reviews. We travelled with our 2 children aged 10 and 9 and were more than pleased with the family room we were given. The air con worked fine, the room was more than adequate to accomodate all 4 of us and to say the staff were brilliant is an understatement!!. Nothing was too much trouble and the waiter service was second to none. The rooms were cleaned daily , there were clean towels every day along with towels for the pool and the beach. - The food was very good ,although maybe there could have been more choice for kids at dinner , but if you dont have fussy eaters no problem. The entertainment is very low key and if you are looking for wild nights out this is not the place for you. But if you want to relax and get away from it all the hotel is perfect .
(The only criticism if we were to make one is that the resort of Platanias seems to based along a main road that does carry a fair amount of traffic and the walkways are quite narrow. )
However as the hotel is such a lovely place to be ,all our intentions of getting out and about were forgotten. We could not get the children away from the wonderful pools (4 to choose from) , none of which were ever full of people and millions of inflatables!! We did venture to the beach where the hotel has a beach bar and this was very relaxing indeed and quiet.!! A ll in all for excellent service a wonderfully relaxing break and lots of sunshine PERFECT. Would we return - definitely !! P.s as an after thought we did have a problem with mosquito bites so go prepared.

  • Liked — The friendliness and service offered by the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — take lots of mosquito spray
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

Because of a hotel booking error when we arrived at our destination hotel, it was necessary for them to find us a room for the first night at another hotel. Unfortunately, we ended up at the Minoa Palace Hotel - our nightmare! Suffice it to say that we had a wonderful 6 week trip traveling throughout Greece with no other unpleasant experience.

There were two main problems at the Minoa Palace: 1)inadequate air-conditioning and 2) poor operational management with absolutely NO customer service skills. These problems were interconnected to create an extremely miserable situation.

We arrived late and were not able to pay for our room using American Express ("because the system was down at the moment"). So, reluctantly we used our Visa card. The room was rather cramped for three beds. Making it even smaller was the folding cot that had been added for the fourth person in our family. And the room was very hot!. But it was clean and for one night. We were very tired from traveling all day, so we turned on the air-conditioning and fell sleep.

A couple hours later (2:00 am?) we awoke because the room was very hot and humid. Doing a closer scrutiny of the air conditioning, we realized it was not working and the buttons on the control panel did not control anything. In fact, warm air was coming out of the vents. The night manager stated there was nothing he could do. We argued with him for a long time. After we made him come upstairs to our room, he reluctantly agreed that he would not be able to sleep there either.

It took until about 3:30 am for him to agree to move us to another room. We had to move our own luggage and cot through the narrow hallways! After settling into the new room, we then realized that the air-conditioning did not work effectively in the second room either. In the morning, the desk manager told us there was nothing he could do because we had already "paid" for the room and that they were a "large chain". We couldn't understand his logic. It was not a language barrier because I speak fluent Greek like a native. He was unbelievably rude, condescending and smug about the entire episode. Basically, his attitude was "too bad".

And one final thing: In trying to pay for some phone calls (made to our Visa company during the night) the next morning, we still could not pay using their American Express "machine". The system was still down "for the moment".

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karteros hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2005

Having stayed in both 4 star and 5 star accomodation in the past I was expecting the standards at the Minoa Palace to be at the same level as previous holidays, needless to say I was disappointed.
Our room was clean but as we had booked and paid for 3 adults and 1 child in a bungalow we found the room to be very small. My eldest daughter slept on a chaise long and my youngest was on a put up bed in the area between the main part of the room and the bathroom, (the corridor?).
The staff were friendly but there quite simply wasn't enough of them. This means that if you are expecting a good standard of service in the bars or the restaurant then you have definately come to the wrong place! For example don't expect to be told what to do in the restaurant or to be guided to a table (very helpful on the first night!). Don't expect to have a wine waiter take your orders before you start your meal or to have your first course plates cleared away before you start the next course. Don't expect that your bed covers will be pulled back and a chocolate placed on your pillow! Don,t expect that there will be enough chairs on your balcony or that the number of pool towels will match the number of guests in your party!
All in all definately not 4 star superior rating in my estimations.
On the plus side the weather was fabulous, the food was delicious (such a pity it's buffet) and the local doctors are wonderful (youngest daughter got an ear infection!). Chania is very pretty and well worth a visit or two as is a nearby restaurant called Mynos.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2005

Having just returned from a weeks holiday at the Hotel Minoa Palace Resort,
14/06 to 21/06/05, I must say the Hotel is superb, as far as the building and staff are concerned, however be aware that although the brochure (Thomson Summer Sun) does state that the beach is 100m away, what it does not say, is, you have to cross the main coast road to get to it, not a major problem in it`s self, but the way the locals drive, I will say no more.
Platanias for those who have not been before is situated on the main coast road, literally on both sides of the road. It is a typical tourist type area which if you did not know you were in Crete, could be anywhere in the Med.
The food in the hotel was on the whole good with a varied choice of dishes, all meals were buffet service. The hotel is situated at the far end of Platanias, if you are travelling from Hania, ie west end.
The hotel is only 3 floors high and is well suited for wheelchair bound people
with ramps and easy access to all levels. Entertainment is very low key, so dont expect to have a knees up every night !. When we were there the hotel was Full, but we had no problem finding sun loungers and a umberella at any time of the day. The 3 pools are of good size and well kept.

Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKS Minoa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKS Minoa Palace

Address: Amnissos, Karteros, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Karteros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Karteros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKS Minoa Palace 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your AKS Minoa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aks Minoa Palace Amnissos
Minoa Palace
AKS Minoa Palace Karteros, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKS Minoa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.