We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value for a one-night stay, as a Six Flags jumping point” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castaic Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castaic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaic Inn
31411 N Ridge Rte, Castaic, CA 91384   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Castaic
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent value for a one-night stay, as a Six Flags jumping point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My teenage daughter and I rather unwisely rolled into Santa Clarita on a Saturday night with no reservation anywhere else. I was happy to find the Castaic Inn with vacancy.
Don't expect the Best Western, it's a roadside motel. However, for the price paid it's a decent value.
Unlike some of the other reviews, our room was actually clean and comfortable, though dated. The sheets, towels, bedspreads, mattresses were all clean, as was the floor. The carpets and decor were just older style.
All rooms include a good-sized bar fridge, which we needed as we had food with us.
There were more channels than expected for a motel, so we were able to find some movies to watch and unwind for the night.
The bathroom was recently renovated with bright new tiles and bathtub, however the one drawback was that the shower curtain was old and smelled like marijuana!! We used the extra towels to cover the bathroom floor and showered without the curtain, and I did let management know that the curtain should be replaced.
We didn't use the pool. Though fairly small it looked reasonably clean, we saw the cleaning guy as we checked in.
There is a simple continental breakfast included, bagels and cereal basically.
All in all, a decent stop for what you pay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    5
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice place to stay for the night I have stayed here twice and both experiences were great. The people were very nice the rooms were clean I mean they are no holiday inn express but no bugs the water runs tv works bed were comfortable enough to sleep. I did bring my own pillows and towels cause all hotels have small towels. Breakfast bagels/toast spread cereal coffee nothing big is very close to carls jr and to corner stores. Parking is real tight but if people knew how to park it wouldn't be as bad but that is the people not hotel. Pool is very small if that is important to you go somewhere else. There is no plastic on the bed I had rooms 222 and 224 single king bed o yeah no couch or anything you get what you get if you need room for 3 get a 2 bed and soap is in a dispenser I would bring my own toilet paper is one ply. Like I said is a great place to stay the night but not move in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here in June 2012. I understand the complaints about the sensor lights and the soap dispenser on the wall. I hated both, especially the lights but I didn't have a problem with plastic on the bed or cleanliness. Both seemed fine to me. The breakfast was bad coffee and packaged danish and the pool was very tiny but the staff was very nice and I've certainly seen far worse. I didn't think it was bad at all.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Point, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

What other people said!, Light sensors that would not turn off, beds wrapped in plastic that slid all night, carpet dirty!! would not let the kids go barefoot. Table was dirty had to wipe it off with the Lysol wipes I brought, just ewww. Pool and spa were dirty, you could see the dirt on the bottom. Staff was nice tho.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

Name me one other hotel in the world that relies solely on light sensors in the room, with no way of manually turning them off? And beds wrapped in plastic that were as hard as a rock? Or carpets with stains on the floor and so dingy that I felt uncomfortable walking around barefoot. How about after 2 rooms, blankets with holes in them? And a door you had to manually lift up on just to lock the deadbolt? The only reason we stayed the nugget was because my partner was dead to the world. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This hotel was rated 2 stars by AAA - I'll inform them to check into this. The door to our room would not lock, the curtains would not pull together. The room was dark, there were not enough towels - soap consisted of push buttons in the wall. The mattresses were covered in plastic that rustled loudly whenever you moved. "Landscaping" was dirt and mud. The pool was tiny, tiny - there were 3 people in it and it looked full. The desk clerk recommended a place for dinner that was closed. The last straw was the vending machine right outside the lobby door with condoms in it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

if you don't want to be bothered or just to get some quiet time. It's not a expensive fancy spot or a cheap sleezy spot either . For the 2 times i've stayed there in a month was perfect for us.the lake is really close lots of big rigs too....the people that work there 98% of them are very nice and helpful,hassle free.. YES.i will stay there again.... THANK YOU

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castaic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaic Inn

Address: 31411 N Ridge Rte, Castaic, CA 91384
Location: United States > California > Castaic
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Castaic
Also Known As:
Castaic Hotel Castaic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castaic Inn to your Saves list