We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location; helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   767 Albertoni St, Carson, CA 90746   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carson
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good location; helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I like this location because it's near the office; basically one of the better business hotels nearby. The neighborhood isn't the greatest but overall feels pretty safe staying there. Have stayed here many times and put our coworkers here everytime when they come into town as well.

Room Tip: high floor, near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    98
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
80
51
28
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We chose this Hampton because we were going to Disneyland the next day and wanted to save some money. We got the room for free through Hilton Honors.

First thing: The location is fine. The map may look scary but the location is fine. The hotel also has taken some security measures for safekeeping as well.

The hotel is nice, typical Hampton decor. One problem was that Housekeeping left a very bad odor in the hallway when we checked in. It lasted several hours. At least the smell was some cleaning solution, so they are cleaning that is good. But very offputting.

The room was fine. The sheets were not as soft as we are used to from Hampton. But overall, the room was good, clean.

The staff was pretty good. The lady at check in was very nice. The overnight guy was nice and tried very hard to be helpful, but his English wasn't very good.

Overall, we got what we expected. Can't really ask for more than that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Where do I start? Any hotel that needs a security guard to roam the parking lot at night makes me anxious? What happened that necessitated that? But, as I arrived late, I didn't let that deter me.
The front desk clerk was friendly enough. But I still couldn't get over the unease of the cameras and security guard.The neighborhood is not unpleasant, but mostly industrial.
My new broken-record hotel complaint is harsh lighting. First of all, those industrial blue florescent bulbs make a rooms seem cold and sterile, but more than that, they are very difficult to read or use a computer by.
The breakfast is average - but certainly not bad. They do have a coin laundry, which is most appreciated, and they also have a small pool, if you wanted such a thing.
The elevators aren't impossibly slow, but neither are they lightning fast.
I loved that they had rooms at a "discounted" point rate. I am able to forgive a lot for that. But, would I pay full retail to stay here? No.

Room Tip: If road noise bothers you, Albertoni St is fairly busy. If it doesn't then the morning sun is ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We took the advice of previous reviews and called ahead to secure a room away from the freeway side of the hotel. They were very accommodating. When we got there they had 2 rooms for us to choose from. Because we were delayed traveling from AZ and in traffic it was a stretch. They were at capacity so I really appreciated that they made an effort to find us a room that was quiet. Nice AM breakfast as well :-) Our daughter had a college visit so it made fora great day.

Thumbs up for the whole staff!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed twice on this hotel during our vacation time in L.A. The people at the hampton are just so kind and eager to go the extra mile. That is a great pro for this hotel. Its price was hard to beat. Breakfast was ok, a little improvement wouldnt hurt, like having real eggs instead of powder ones, or fresh fruit instead of canned. Even though they provide breakfast in a bag for early birds and fresh complimentary coffee and tea 24 hs. Plus waffle machine, different kinds of cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, bagels and pastries. Rooms are spacious, clean, bed is extra comfortable, pillows are fluffy, minifridge is convenient. Wifi worked perfectly, parking was never a problem. At the side of a freeway ramp the hotel is very accesible. At least three major routes would cross within a 2 block radius which made reaching your destination a very easy and quick task, although it is far from major attractions the price makes up for it. I mean, its only a 15 minute drive from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the freeway, to the left of the elevator to avoid as much noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I spent two nights at this location (using Hilton Honors points) during a spontaneous trip to LA (my first to the area). I'm so pleased that I took the plunge and decided to stay here! The hotel is super clean and the staff is super friendly (which I've come to expect from Hampton Inns). It offers the trifecta of value in my book: free parking, free breakfast and free in-room wifi. (I've never understood why hotels--especially luxury properties at much higher price points--fee justified in nickel and dimeing you for these amenities). The location is convenient, not far from the Home Depot center and USC Dominguez Hills. Plenty of eating options withing walking distance; plenty of additional eating and shopping options a short drive away. I was initially wary of staying in Carson--all I could surmise from the map is that it is one town over from Compton--and wondered if it would be safe. All I can say is that safety was a non-issue! The room was large and comfortable (especially the queen bed). My room was on the back of the hotel facing the freeway; while the traffic noise wasn't overpowering I would have requested a room on the front side of the building had I known. Again, let me emphasize the cleanliness of this property and its convenient location--especially for someone who has never been to LA before. It was easy to get everywhere I wanted (LAX, Long Beach, downtown, Hollywood, and all of the beachfront communities up and down the PCH, etc.). Breakfast was typical hotel continental offering; not gourmet by any stretch but better than many I've seen. Breakfast to Go prepacked at front desk counter was a nice touch for guests who didn't have time to sit down and eat.

Room Tip: rooms on back of building overlook freeway; noise was bearable. I suspect rooms on front of buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This Hampton Inn was an excellent choice as we used points, which were very affordable per night. A Complementary Breakfast is served every morning with everything from Fresh Fruit, to Eggs and Bagels. Nice Touch for Hampton. What I liked was the convienience to basically get to downtown LA, The Valley, and Beach areas as the 405/110/91 freeways are right there. In LA, its all about the freeways, and the ease of access to these arteries made travel a whole lot less hectic. Rooms were clean, WI-Fi worked everytime, Nice big fridge, Plazma TV 32#. A real pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance

Address: 767 Albertoni St, Carson, CA 90746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carson Hotel Carson
Carson Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.