We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the traveller that knows quality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavezzo Country Retreat

Save Saved
You added Pavezzo Country Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pavezzo Country Retreat
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Katouna, Katouna 31100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For the traveller that knows quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I spent a week at Pavezzo Country Retreat over the Easter holidays and I am very glad to say that It fulfilled more than my every expectation and I'm a somewhat demanding traveller. The place is absolutely beautiful and so elegant in its country-style simplicity. Do not be fooled though, the details one can find all around the common areas and in each house are by no means random...one can see the ( very charming!) owners must be avid travellers who enjoy exploring and finding unique decorative objects to bring back home. There is an atmosphere of understated sophistication at Pavezzo and a coziness which is very welcoming. The house I stayed in was called Agrabeli; I fell in love with it and don't think I need to say more... I really want to make sure I experience each house in future stays as they look so beautiful , each in its own unique way.
Breakfast was delicious, and service was excellent and friendly without any hint of obtrusiveness. The traditional dinner and lunch served for Greek Easter was great and the whole event was made very homely, thanks to the staff and owners. I'm also happy to say there was a diversity of delicious dishes that catered to guests like myself who are not fans of lamb and mutton etc ( the traditional Greek Easter Feast that is!). The village of Katouna is very pretty in its greenery and has a great small tavern serving local produce (delicious and not fussy!). Albeit the weather during my stay was unfortunately not the best, the staff at Pavezzo catered to every need so that the mood remained jolly amongst guests. I also want to add that this is the first time I visited Lefkada and that I was very impressed with the nature and fantastic beaches here...I shall definitely be coming back during summer months to dive in the turquoise waters and there is no place I'd rather stay than Pavezzo and its gorgeous and peaceful green mountain views...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We fell in love with Pavezzo when we visited last year, venue hunting for our wedding. The venue hosted our wedding & reception a couple of weeks ago and we are still pinching ourselves. It was simply perfect -private, romantic, relaxed, beautiful and quite overwhelming. We had exclusive use of the whole venue for our wedding and accommodation for our guests (22) who stayed on extra nights as they loved it so much. The staff (particularly Apostolos) were wonderful, attentive but unobtrusive which is what gives the place it's unique feeling of your own private retreat. The village of Katouna is very basic but oodles rustic charm, & the local Taverna served the 'hens' perfectly the evening before with authentic greek food & hospitality. I used the 'Honeymoon' villa for my bridal preparations so that I could do the bridal walk through the village under a shower of rice from the locals- 'priceless!'. The whole occasion was magical and beyond my expectations. A genuine luxury 'Mama Mia' experience. Perfect for an intimate wedding or romantic escape.

Room Tip: Each house is unique and equally beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Pavezzo is a very romantic beautifully decorated hotel surrounded with all kinds of trees, plants and flowers. It is most suitable for couples vising Lefkada and looking for some quality time. Apostolos and the staff made everything to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Myself and my husband visited Pavezzo for just one night. We stayed in Daphne, what a perfect couples retreat! Very, very romantic and we had the pool to ourselves as the other house that shares the pool was empty. They have amazing 'love beds' by the pool so you can both sunbath together. The village of Katouna is lovely and very traditional and the local taverna is certainly worth a visit. The only downsides were the bathroom could do with a re-vamp, some new tiles and power shower are needed. Also the drinks in the hotel are very expensive. We would suggest going to Lidl first and stocking up and using the fridges in the room. As the village is so small with one restaurant a few nights stay is probably enough but there are lots of beaches etc nearby if you are happy to drive just 30 minutes or so. We have stayed in many hotels and this is by far the most romantic. If you are planning to get married abroad this is the place. They have a wedding license and can accommodate 32 guests. We will be going back for sure

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

A magical place

We just came back from a few days at Pavezzo Country Retreat
on the island of Lefkada/ Greece. What a wonderful experience!
There are seven villas and each one is stunning. We had a little charming
house with the name of Agrabeli: wooden floors and beams, a copper bathtub
and a little pool under an old olive tree. The host, Apostoles, made us feel
like old friends returning home. If you are looking for a spezial place on Lefkada,
look no further. This is a magical place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed in Myrtia which has it's own (chilly!) pool and incredibly view over the hills. The whole place is beautifully designed, really sophisticated. We were there at the end of the season so instead of eating in the hotel at night, we all went to the taverna round the corner which was so great fun too. We had to leave very early to catch our ferry on our last day and so the staff packed us up a portable breakfast and left it outside our room - lovely!
It really is off the beaten track but definitely worth it. (Tip: you'd need to hire a car if you're arriving from Vassiliki, a can journey would be about 50 Euros each way.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Pavezzo Country Retreat is absolutely marveleous. The individuel house, is recreated with a dreaming atmosphere, a fantastic view and nice quit relaxation at the small pools. Apostolous - the host - is charming, friendly and very service minded, and did everything for us to feel welcom and relaxed.
We spend most of our week at Pavezzo - since we used it as the fantastic retreat place it is - sunbathing, dringking champagne, talking etc. by the pool and in the wonderfull house 'Daphne'.
The breakfast in the wonderfull restaurant is an lovely experince in its own.

Try this

If you are in need of a reel retreat with intimacy, fantastic surroundings and lovely weather this is THE place.

We cannot recommend this place enough.

Take also a trip with the fantastic tourboat - Cathrina - from the city Nidri 15 km from Katouna. And if you afterwards wants to eat very well, eat at the restaurant a cross the strees from where the ship Catrhina is located at port

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pavezzo Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavezzo Country Retreat

Address: Katouna, Katouna 31100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Katouna
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Katouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavezzo Country Retreat 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect the unexpected at the Pavezzo Country Retreat, cradled in a sensational landscape of greenery at Katouna, Lefkada, one the most beautiful islands in the Ionian Sea. A collection of nine renovated Venetian houses capture the architecture and cherished lifestyle of the island's noble heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Pavezzo Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavezzo Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.