We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giannfranco's Trattoria L

Giannfranco's Trattoria L
666 Linden Ave, Carpinteria, CA 93013
805- 684-0720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 61 restaurants in Carpinteria
Price range: $9 - $43
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Authentic Upscale Italian Cuisine. Freshly prepared when you order. Local Ingredients and Imported Italian Products used in our cooking. Amazing Italian wine List served by Professional Servers.
Victoria
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This restaurant has improved greatly since 2011. I was not impressed with their food then; but now I rate it very good.
The service is also very good, but declines when its busy. I would tend to avoid this place on a Friday or Saturday night, because it becomes very noisy.

The menu is quite extensive, and their pasta excellent. Desserts are worthwhile. My only problem is the noise, and the small tables. Be prepared for very close other patrons.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    52
    23
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
“Attention to detail in every area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I experienced a fantastic dining experience at this restaurant. This is a family owned and operated establishment that specializes in excellence in every way. The meals are presented beautifully, the flavors are out of this world and the ambiance is warm and inviting. I could go on and on but until you dine there you will not appreciate how good a meal can be.

Oh by the way, don't forget to check out the romantic patio in the back...

Ciao!
Brian and Mary Jo

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Both for lunch and dinner, this place is excellent. Once, we had Mama's attendance at lunch in the yard. Wonderful. The food is just great, the ingredients are fresh and of good quality. For dinner, it was no problem for our company of 7 to split 3 starters. I will definitely return to Giannfranco's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giannfrancos, Owner at Giannfranco's Trattoria L, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Our 'Personal Time' is the most precious commodity we have. We thank you for taking time off your busy schedule and expressing those kind words about our restaurant. We strive daily to please all our guests and are happy to hear that YOU appreciate what we do. Giannfranco's Trattoria sets itself apart from all other restaurants in the area by preparing all our Homemade salad dressings, Homemade raviolis to all our entrees made when you order. Never Ahead !! And ALL this happens in our tiny 3 feet by 8 feet kitchen !! Obviously all this happens by having an excellent hard working Serving STAFF as well as a Kitchen Staff that takes PRIDE in what they do and has been part of our Family since the beginning, 7 years ago. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Giovanni
Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Steak was to die for........Pasta was excellent as well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Again the meal and service was excellent. Anna, Frank and Gio plus great staff equals awesome.

We have a place in Carpinteria and visit frequently. We enjoy trying the new items on the menu but I had to do the Steak. It was done as I like it, rare. The meat was prime quality rib eye.

We will be back in mid October for another great meal and to see our friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“one of my fave restaurants ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

i love giannfranco's! i've been coming here for years, whenever i'm in town. i don't go up to the area as much as i used to, but i was recently back in carpinteria meeting up with friends, and we all had dinner out on the back patio on a summer's evening. i've *never* had a bad meal here. everything i've ever ordered has been delicious, and the portion sizes are perfect. not too big, not too small, just right. the chef, giovanni, is a master at subtlety. he produces lovely, traditionally *and* innovatively prepared dishes that also have an eye to health. olive oil takes precedence over butter, and with the restaurant located in the "salad bowl" of california, fresh vegetables, greens, fruits, along with fresh seafood, are plentiful and delicious. giannfranco's is like a dress that can go from casual to evening -- it's suitable for a casual meeting, or a formal event. you can dress up, or go casual. i had an event here, and they took wonderful care of us. the menu is pricey, but in my experience, it's always been worth it -- the intimate atmosphere, the family feeling behind the counter, the devotion to deliciously and healthily prepared food -- i wish i lived closer! i would go every week! :) oh -- one thing -- being a small family restaurant with carefully, individually prepared meals, the service can take a bit longer than you might like -- but food like this is not meant to be bolted -- sit back, sip some wine or still water, and savor your evening -- it's worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giannfranco's Trattoria L also viewed

 

Been to Giannfranco's Trattoria L? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giannfranco's Trattoria L, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.