We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and we left hungry” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Giannfranco's Trattoria L

Giannfranco's Trattoria L
666 Linden Ave, Carpinteria, CA 93013
805- 684-0720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Carpinteria
Price range: $9 - $43
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Authentic Upscale Italian Cuisine. Freshly prepared when you order. Local Ingredients and Imported Italian Products used in our cooking. Amazing Italian wine List served by Professional Servers.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced and we left hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was excited to try this Trattoria because the menu featured some regional specialties and looked more authentic than most allegged "Italian" restaurants in the States. We got there for dinner around 8.30 pm on a Monday evening, so the place was almost empty. The manager greeted us very nicely but the service was slow and inattentive. We ordered one serving each thinking that it would be sufficient. My 20$ portion of ravioli with shrimps and scallops had literally four ricotta ravioli in it. I gave one to the baby so I was left with 3 ravioli for dinner. When I said to the waiter that I would have appreciated him mentioning that portions were on the small side, so that I could have ordered more food, he argued that four is the standard serving. The ravioli, though little, were good but the charcuterie and cheese platter my husband ordered was covered with sauce, which was rather unpleasant and not mentioned in the menu according to which only the pears were supposed to have some sauce on. So overall a disappointing experience. Peccato!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    25
    13
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carpinteria, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

awesome food, horrible service! they are just plain rude!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“3 STRIKES and Your Out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Unspoken etiquette, that most restaurants give as customer service is foreign to "Gianofranco".
Its too complicated for this place to handle more than a party of four. Every request is resisted with a NO! Every turn of event is an extra fee $$$ even at their own mishandling of orders , from not allowing 2 extra tablespoons of balsmic too the lowest serving of wine not too mention meager portions.. I have ever experience, requesting anything is followed with a NO!!! From the staff to the Chef down ..Unfortunately, trying to be a Class act Restaurant with no sense or knowledge who you are tring to please . I suggest they remmber who walks in the door and why. A customer who pays. Always remmber when your client is displeased they tell a dozen more. Never Again ..

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This family restaurant deserves a great review. It's a mother/father/son team and they try very hard to keep their customers happy. The food is fantastic. The lunch menu has tasty sandwiches as well as pasta dishes. The dinner menu has a number of interesting appetizers and the chef always has some innovative specials. There is also a lovely patio in the back.
This is one of our favorite restaurants.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So So...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

The food is ok but not worth the price. I suggest the next restaurant over (Slys) for something better in the same price range.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giannfranco's Trattoria L also viewed

 

Been to Giannfranco's Trattoria L? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giannfranco's Trattoria L, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.