We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food 1 block from the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spot

Spot
389 Linden Ave, Carpinteria, CA 93013-2310
805-684-6311
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 65 Restaurants in Carpinteria
Restaurant details
Burbank, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really good food 1 block from the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Aptly named little food shack with indoor and outdoor seating. They have a pretty varied menu from fried fish and shrimp, to burgers and dogs, even mexican food. My husband and myself went with another couple and we each got something different to try the place out. I got a regular cheeseburger and onion rings, my husband a bacon burger and chilly fries, and our friends got fish and chips and shrimp and chips respectively. I didn't taste the fish or shrimp but they both said it was very good. The burgers, if i had to guess are their claim to fame. Excellent...fresh beef, not frozen and hand formed patties with soft delicious buns make a pretty great burger. My husband said the bacon on his burger was perfectly cooked and not overly salty. the onion rings were good but not great as were the chilly fries. I would definitely come back for the burgers, shrimp and fish, but the side orders were just ok. We did not have any shakes or malts, but they are very popular as almost all of the people around us tried them. Definitely worth the stop for a great burger at a good price. And because it's at the beach, bathing suits, and all manor or beachwear is perfectly acceptable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This place hits the SPOT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just had to try The Spot, because there was always a line to eat there, no matter what time of day it was! Well, the Spot did not let us down. It was GOOD. Hambergers, shakes, hot dogs and more, YUM!! Perfect beach food, fast service, good food, try it you'll like it!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Small burger shack near the beach. Very convenient location when you find yourself starving on the beach. I got the fish and chips last time. It was pretty average. I would get it again. The pineapple milkshake didn't have enough pineapple in it. Lots of parking in the back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I grew up in Carp and the spot has always had the best burgers. I live in Northern Cal now but we visit Sanata Barbara and Carpinteria often. I now take my teenage daughters and they love it too. We always know we will get the best burger and fries. Yummy~

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great local ''spot'' -- must try when in Carpinteria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Loved the burger shack feel. Great food, quick and I think they now serve breakfast. Very old time beach feeling with fun atmosphere and fair prices. Be sure to get there early for whatever meal you are aiming for. Locals and tourists alike love this place.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spot also viewed

 

Been to Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.