We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5606 Carpinteria Avenue, Carpinteria, CA 93013   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Second time we have stayed here while participating in the Santa Barbara Avon Breast Cancer Walk. Rooms are very large (plenty of room for the 1 queens, plus a roll away plus an air mattress) and clean. Beds are a bit soft for my taste, but comfortable. Pool is small but quaint. Nice landscaping and lobby. Breakfast is as you'd expect...eggs, sausage, yogurt and a bunch o' carbs (not even any fruit, except for overripe bananas!). Staff is very attentive and friendly. Only gripe is the price, and although I stayed on points, I would not have done so if I had th pay the $285 price tag...but I guess it is what the market will bear!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    83
    39
    20
    15
See reviews for
68
56
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Got a last-minute room here for one night and got the AAA rate of $160/night, which, for a weekend night in the summertime, is a good rate for any hotel near the California coastline. Rooms were large and clean with no signs of wear and tear. Landscaping and pool area were kept up quite well, all in all one of the nicer HIE's I've been to (and I've stayed at a lot of HIE's). Service was decent enough (but we didn't have any special requests either), breakfast was the usual for HIE, and for you pet owners, it's pet-friendly. A good choice for the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mensign, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We find that many of our guests who stay at Holiday Inn brands appreciate our large (over 400 sq.ft.) rooms, and our outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, heated year round. Carpinteria is a beautiful, small, quiet beach town and we're only 15 minutes from Santa Barbara. Many of our guests find the difference in rate is worth the short drive versus staying in Santa Barbara. Most prefer the vibe & ambiance in Carpinteria and just leave their car in our lot and walk to the beach or downtown in our very pedestrian friendly city. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel has a nice feel. It's easy to find from the highway but also an easy walk to town and the beach. The rooms are good and the small pool and hot tub perfect for a bit of sun bathing. The breakfast could do with some tlc but that was our only complaint.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

First let me say that I have never had such bad service in my life. The general manager was the most rude hotel personal that I have ever delt with. The problem is they refiused to honor the rate that was quoted to us over the phone. The assistant manager even said he heard the employee give us the rate and never tell us we had to have a goverment ID for each room. Several of us called the hotel before our stay and they never said anything about the restrictions. When the manager was called on this and we said we would cancel our reservation his responce was "good then I will keep your deposit, sell your room for more and good luck finding a room else where" nice guy. Also the person who made the reservation is a two time Vet is this how we treat our war veterans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mensign, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I am sorry that this guest was disappointed that our hotel would not extend a Government rate to non-government travelers during a sold out summer weekend. Contrary to the statements made by the guest in the review, the government rate was never quoted for the reservations in question. Rather, a group of guests who were attending a social function demanded that the rate on all of their rooms be reduced to a government rate due to the fact that one member of their party was affiliated with a government agency. Our government rate offering clearly states "for government employees only traveling on official government business". This was clearly not the case with this party. In addition, we specifically do not offer a government rate on holidays or busy summer weekends, even if traveling on official business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The rooms are big with two queen beds and a pullout couch and the rooms are updated. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, it's fine if you like carbs and sugar. The hotel is along the freeway but we didnt hear any noise. It's not cheap though. We got a last minute (day of rates) which was the lowest on internet and still almost cost $200.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

So...I don't usually post reviews, but felt I needed to this time. This hotel is WAY too expensive for what you get. I appreciate that it's a dog friendly hotel (we have 2, but were not traveling with them). BUT....if you're going to be dog friendly, you must accept responsibilities with that. What I mean is, if you allow dogs, you better shampoo the carpets frequently. Yes, our carpets were riddled with dog pee stains. This is a $200 per night (minimum) hotel, and you have dog pee stains on your carpet?!

Also, there is no business center. They have 2 extremely out of date computers sitting in the lobby and yes, they charge you for pages printed. The wifi only works in the lobby as well.

The day staff was nice, the night staff...not so much. I was sitting in the lobby when a person walked in and asked if there were rooms available (there were) and if they had the cool pancake machine. The staff said, "Yes."

The pancake machine had been broke our entire stay (3 days), so I told the gentleman inquiring, "the pancake machine is broken, so if that's a deal breaker, I'm so sorry that the front desk woman lied to you."

Not great...too expensive. Will not be staying here again....UNLESS... they make some very inexpensive alterations.

1- Upgrade the wifi service
2- Buy a couple of new computers
3- Buy a carpet cleaner and require the maid service to clean the carpets after every dog stay.

Such easy fixes and this hotel would be great. Poor management if you ask me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear jennnickrob,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad that you found our location satisfactory to your needs. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA area
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 5 years. Just spent last weekend here. Parents stayed here too. Just noticed several "little things" adding up that went wrong over the course of 2 days. First, my parents room was supposed to be a handicapped room with a walk in shower and two queen beds. Nope. And it wasn't cleaned and ready when the front desk clerk insisited it was. We walked into a dirty, unmade room. Maid apologised profusely and quickly cleaned. My room was supposed to be 2 queen beds (I had two kids with me). Got a king bed. Had to ask for roll away. No problem. One of my kids enjoyed the roll away.
toilet paper holder was completely torn off and sitting on top of vanity. told front desk they needed someone with a screwdriver to screw it back into place. It never got fixed while we were there and I reminded front desk twice.
Hair dryer in my room didn't work, after I pushed reset button, etc etc. It never got fixed even though front desk said they'd sent someone over "right away'.
Mold in my shower/tub. And I mean mold. Yuck.
Breakfast was ok. Pancake machine broken with a sign on it. Everything else fine.
Front desk staff just ok.
Maid service very polite.
Pool was clean. Kids enjoyed swimming. Jets in jacuzzi didn't work.

Room Tip: first floor is nice and close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria

Address: 5606 Carpinteria Avenue, Carpinteria, CA 93013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carpinteria
Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria
Holiday Inn Carpinteria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.