We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another very good best western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4558 Carpinteria Ave., Carpinteria, CA 93013   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
derby england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“another very good best western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

we set off from monterey to travel to carpinteria(10 miles south of
santa barbara).we drove mostly down H1 and partly H101.the drive was stunning,ive always wanted to do it.im 46 now but it was worth the wait.anyway onto hotel.first impressions good.check in was fine.room spacious,clean and well equipped.my room faced H101 but heard little of traffic.hotel was
smart and well maintained with nice gardens.another very good
best western,it was my third best western on the trip and again i
was impressed.carpinteria is a lovely place with a nice beach,
plenty of eating places and shops.the beach is about half mile from hotel.i was impressed with carpinteria as a place and i
would recommend the best western carpinteria inn.

  • Liked — it had a nice feel to it
  • Disliked — maybe ask for a room not facing H101 but its not really a problem.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    205
    102
    40
    29
See reviews for
148
191
30
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Great best western ! Very large rooms(we had a familyroom) .
Better than the average best westerns. We definitely would go again !! Much cheaper than Santa Barbara and very close.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

Very average hotel. Great location, near beach but overpriced for what you get. The air conditioning in our room did not work properly. The room kept getting stuffy even though we had the thermostat turned way down. Air conditioning made too much noise when it turned on and off which was disruptive to sleep. Pool is very small. Hotel could use some updating.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The temperature control in room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

Our family was very pleased this property! The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly! We had read that there were complaints about noise from the freeway, so we requested a courtyard room. Our room was ready early and was perfect! We had a private patio that opened up to the courtyard. The jacuzzi and pool were small - but we were there for the beach, not the pool. It's a bit far for walking into town but close for a quick drive in to the beach or for dining. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

Drove across the desert from Las Vegas and Santa Barbara area and the Best Western, Carpinteria were better than an oasis.

We loved our stay and hope we can return again someday.

  • Liked — Santa Barbara area
  • Disliked — Noise of freeway
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

We spent 4 nights at the end of June at the Best Western Carpinteria Inn. The grounds at this hotel are absolutely beautiful! Our 3rd floor room faced the lush courtyard and had a shared balcony with chairs and a small table. Sitting on the balcony definitely gave one the feel of being at a resort. The room had a vaulted wood-beamed ceiling – a nice change from what is typical of a hotel room. There was also a very large closet with mirrored doors. Our room had a king bed and was of average size. It was very clean and well-maintained, although there were a few stains (that appeared to be permanent—not fresh) on the bedspread. We found the hotel staff to be very pleasant and professional. The lobby was also very nice and well-maintained. Parking was convenient and plentiful.

While we loved so much about this hotel, there were a few things that we would have changed if we could. The bed was a little too firm for our liking. Also, the showerhead is mounted very low – so beware if you’re tall. My husband is 6 foot and it was a bit of a pain for him to use. But the water pressure was great and the temperature plenty hot. Additionally, while the halls, lobby and room didn’t smell, all of the stairwells in the hotel had a musty-type and dirty smell to them. The carpet in the stairwells appeared to be very old, so maybe that was the source of the smell. Another thing to note, the elevator, although it worked just fine, made all sorts of noises when it went up and down. We kept our fingers crossed each time we rode in it that it wouldn’t break down!

With regard to the on-site restaurant, we tried to go there for breakfast the first morning that we were at the hotel and were told (in quite a curt and not very friendly manner), that the main dining area was being used exclusively for a private party and that the only seats available to us were at a small group of 4 tables that were in a separate area. (We assumed that the private party was a tour group since there was a tour bus in the parking lot.) We were so put off by how the hostess/server spoke to us, we left and went elsewhere for breakfast and didn’t even try to eat there again during the remainder of our stay. It’s too bad this particular restaurant staff member was so unfriendly because as I stated earlier, all of the hotel staff members we encountered were very nice.

Despite the changes that we would make, the Best Western Carpinteria Inn is still an overall nice hotel, especially for the price (we paid $99 a night for our courtyard room, which was a special rate we found on Best Western’s website). And the drive to Santa Barbara from the hotel was easy and quick.

  • Liked — beautiful grounds and courtyard view from room
  • Disliked — firm bed
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

We were driving the pacific highway,California.We needed somewhere to stay for the four of us,this was a good choice.From outside it is lit up by fairy lights looks very well.inside was good too.Pool was good clean and heated.Bar and restaurant on site,seems to get a lot of coach tours.Staff were freindly all over a good experience.

  • Liked — the way it looked
  • Disliked — no complimentary breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn

Address: 4558 Carpinteria Ave., Carpinteria, CA 93013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carpinteria Hotel Carpinteria
Carpinteria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.