We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and filthy. Do not stay there.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North to your Saves list
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4200 Via Real, US 101/El Camino North at Santa Monica Road, Carpinteria, CA 93013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
La Mirada, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting and filthy. Do not stay there.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went for the weekend with my two Granddaughters. I had stayed there before when they had just remodeled and it was not too bad. This visit was horrible. The hotel should be shut down.
The bedspread had stains all over it. The floors were dirty and sticky. The beds are the worst. It is just a foam mattress on a wooden platform, which the mattress was so worn, it was like sleeping on the wooden platform. When I did try to sleep, as soon as laid down between the sheets, my legs were itching so bad, I had to to get up and just sleep on top of both sheets since the blankets were dirty. Since we arrived at the hotel at 9p.m., it was not possible to find another room. It was the longest night. This place really needs to be inspected and I will keep trying until I find the right government department to report this place to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    15
    13
    33
See reviews for
15
25
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lazy Staff - poor service - view of HWY 101, and road noise all night noisy AC worked but run all night. Avoid staying here if at all possible our room was less than 200 Sq. Ft. at a cost of 115.00 plus taxes

Room Tip: Try HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS / BEST WESTERN OR THE MOTEL 6 SOUTH, As for the north they need to close it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I like Motel 6, I usually stay in them when I am traveling and know not to expect a whole lot. This one is the worst I have ever seen. The carpet was damp, the room had a sour musty stench to it and we killed three cockroaches - two in the bathroom and one on the wall between the beds. The internet which you pay $2.99 for was so slow we couldn't really do anything with it. I have paid less at Motel 6 and have had better rooms than this. Stay away from this one. Pay a little more for a hotel that at least keeps its rooms nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked a non-smoking room but they put us in a smoking room. After only one night our clothes stank of smoke for the remainder of our trip.

Was told that the internet wifi was in our booking. It wasn't so we had to pay extra when checking in.

Terrible place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The stay started going bad over a month in advance. I called to make a reservation, and instead of making a reservation, they charged me for the night I called. Then when I called to straighten the problem out, they tried charging me twice as much for the room. Finally got them to agree to give me the room since I already paid for it, and they once again canceled the reservation because they didn't bother to get a credit card. I arrived to find no room waiting for me. They got me a room, at a price quoted a friend, and they swore the refunded the money to my credit card. They never did. The rooms are two beds, no where to put anything, no room for luggage if you use both beds. Water pressure very poor, and no lobby for basic morning conveniences. At least they had an ice machine, but forget it if you want anything warm. The cruelest part is is the wake up call talks about coffee in the lobby. There is no lobby, and they don't supposedly start serving until 7, so forget it unless you sleep late. Fortunately they are next to a very nice and accommodating gas station with good coffee, and free hot water. That gas station really saved the stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I hear that Carpinteria South is the better Motel 6 to stay. It wouldn't be hard to improve on Carp. North. Complimentary breakfast was apparently a cup of coffee. No tissues in the room, no hot water pot for tea or instant coffee. Thankfully we were on the back side of the building because the hotel is right by the freeway and loud. Plus gunshots in the evening. At least the walls and paint and bathroom were in good repair. But $100 a night? C'mon.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Room was clean. Smelled a bit musty and moldy so bought some disinfectant spray. Absolutely no dresser, shelves or any place else to put clothes, except on wire rack above hanging rod in bathroom. Lighting good right around building but the second tier of parking away from the building poorly lit. Great location in Carpinteria.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North

Address: 4200 Via Real, US 101/El Camino North at Santa Monica Road, Carpinteria, CA 93013
Location: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North Hotel Carpinteria
Carpinteria Motel Six
Carpinteria Motel 6
Motel 6 Carpinteria
Motel Six Carpinteria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.