We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Botantic Garden to Wander In” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Gardens

Seaside Gardens
3700 Via Real, Carpinteria, CA
805.684.6001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Carpinteria
Attraction details
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Free Botantic Garden to Wander In”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a really nice garden, divided into Australian, Succulent, Native Plants, and more areas. The Lotus flowers alone were worth the stop. Technically this is a nursery with a focus on plants sales, but there's no pressure or sales pitch. We were greeted and left alone to wander through the planted gardens with our cameras. The gardens had several places along the way to just sit back and enjoy the view, including a fountain, grape trellis, and pond. If you enjoy seeing unusual plants add this to your list of things to do in the area. Best of all, it's free!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised, a hidden gem...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We never would've know about this place if we hadn't search the area hard for things to do while visiting nearby Santa Barbara. It does look like it's all nursery when you come up on it from Via Real..but, walk inside to the Botanical Garden area and it's postcard perfect...how creative and beautiful each area is..all geographically done..Australian, Mediterranean, African, South American, Succulents. The best part is when we found out that these plants are sold there and are all easily adapted to our California type weather..! We found some plants that aren't offered in our So. Calif area and bought them to take home for our garden. The help there is knowledgable and very friendly. With enough 'passing the word', this place will soon be overcrowded.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great display garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I loved seeing the display gardens arranged by region of origin.
I bought some plants also. They were of very good quality. The succulents had nicely established roots and were not too expensive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hills, ca
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“fun visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

if you love a good nursery this one is fun. Very nicely done with garden walks and some different plants from Australia and other drought resistant areas. Worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fabulous selection of plants to purchase. 4 acres of plantings to walk through and enjoy, as well as see what mature plants in place will look like. This is not just a nursery, it is a botanical garden. Loads of birds, butterflies and bees enjoying the many blossoms. Prices are a bit high, but more than worth it for the experience. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaside Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Seaside Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.