We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ionian Sea Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park to your Saves list
Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kounopetra Mantzavinaton, Kounopetra 28200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kounopetra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
st helens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ionian Sea Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hi All, we are a family of 2 adults and 2 children and we are going to this hotel on 31st July so only 3 weeks to wait. How long is the transfer from the airport please? Are there any reccommended restaurants to eat in close by to the hotel etc? We only booked this holiday as a last minute one, but we are all really looking forward to heading out of the blighty weather for 7 days. Any other information about the hotel would be gratefully received.

thanks

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Booked this about a week before we came on holiday. The rooms were a bit basic but that's what we were expecting. Good shower but no bath. Nice tile floors helped keep the room cool and the air con was very efficient. Nice to sit on the balcony in the morning with a cup of coffee. Bring your own coffee/tea as they don't suppy any in the rooms.

The food was excellent and lots of it. Local honey and Greek yoghurt along with a sweet crepe every day for breakfast. Cooked breakfast was available and they managed to have very palatable scambled eggs. Buffet style lunch and evening meals had a choice of chicken, lamb, beef (usually 2 beef dishes), pork, fish and occasionally rabbit. Reasonable range of vegetarian food, vegetables and salads. The olives are from the hotel's own trees. I must have eaten a couple of kilos of them! Soup for evening meal was different and interesting. Local beer and wine is very drinkable. Range of Greek sweets and local fruit was also available.

The emphasis was on Greek cuisine (it is a Greek hotel) and the quality was far better than I was expecting. Don't exect any fast food like burgers, fish fingers, pizza etc

Pool areas were well laid out and kept immaculately clean, Service at the pool bar was very good. Try the local oranges - picked ripe they are the sweetest and juiciest I've ever eaten. Greek coffee is not in the all inclusive but is great value for money.

All the staff were very friendly and were brilliant when I got something in my eye. Immediate first aid and they checked that I was still ok a couple of hours later.

Not a hotel for the older teenager as its quite isolated (reason we went) but great for young families and the older travellers. The evening entertainment was multi lingual so it was fairly basic But they were great with the children.

The hotel has a Mini bus that runs to Lixouri twice a day for €2 return but needs a minimum of 6 people, Lovely town - my wife found some really nice beachwear, dresses etc and even bought some jewellery. We then spotted the local priest sitting in a cafe and working on the assumption that he wouldn't drink bad coffee we tried there - beautiful coffee. On the right hand side of the square opposite the Agri bank.

All in all it was so good we are going back next year.

So why only very good and not an excellent rating. The nearest Tavera was a mile away and it was too hot to walk to and from during the day. We knew it was isolated but not that isolated.

Room Tip: The sun is really fierce so if your balcony gets the sun in the afternoon you can't sit there un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I booked this holiday for my husband and i for a cheap relaxing holiday. our first break without our children. i saw a few other reviews on this hotel and i can say i wasnt too excited about this hotel. but it was cheap so we booked it. to our suprise it was fantastic value for money. usually we stay in 4 or 5 star hotels so i knew i couldnt expect much. however..... the weather is amazing. bit too hot for me in the mid 30s first week in july 2012. the rooms are very basic but i knew it would be for the price. the rooms are cleaned beautifully by maids 7 days a week. there are 3 main pools plus an aqua park for the childrdn plus a playground area. the beach is approx a 7 min walk. its not a typical white sand beach as it suffers from seaweed being pushed up to shore but they try to clear it as and when. The beach is nothing to do with the hotel. but it is used by anyone. you need to pay 5 euros gor a sunbed. or 2 euros after 4 pm. the food is beyond fantastic. the best all inc restaurant food we have ever had. most hotelswhich have all inc food is very samey every day. the chef is sef and cooks everything even the sauces ftom scratch daily. the manager of the restaurant is great. welcomes everyone individually and shows you around so u know where everything is. it is a family run hotel that has fantastic staff. i would say its perfect for the price but its a bit isolated and u have to get a bus to lixuori town to go shopping or go on a ferry ride to argostolli.however there is a very small shop on site that sells a few essentials like ciggerettes, toiletries, drinks and inflatables. Although we usually go away to a 4 or 5 star hotel once every other year for two weeks all inc. we will be returning here again next july with our children and have another holiday the same year in october. if your looking for lots of fun for your children in a safe enviroment that is not too busy. this hotel will be great. theres not much to do here but thats why we came. just to relax. we were the only english people here except for one other couple, it didnt bother us at all but thought id mention it. I will b looking forward to coming back. this hotel is one and a half hours drive from the airport. hope this review helps.x

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notodden, Telemark, Norway
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My family and I stayed for a week late in may. The meals were very good. Service was exelent. The people that worked at the hotel were very servicesminded and polite. The hotelarea was clean and had a lot of flowers. Pools was clean and our appartment was clean. The only thing to complain about was very hard beds :). We would not mind going back to this hotel one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My family holidays lasted for more than a week. Our room (3 persons) was small, perhaps because we didn't book the room early. The hotel is near Lixouri, in a quiet place, just at the sea, but it isn't the best area to swim. However the hotel is clean, has 3 swimming pools and a very big children playground. Breakfast was very poor (quantitative and qualitative), on the contrary the dinner was very good and the dishes were generous. However the whole procedure to select the dishes had no flexibility. The stuff was excellent and the woman in reception desk had the proper knowledge and the good will to show us the best places to visit.

Room Tip: There are bungalows/apartments for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park

Address: Kounopetra Mantzavinaton, Kounopetra 28200, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Kounopetra
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kounopetra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.