We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place to stay in Lake Tahoe!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast
315 Olive St., Carnelian Bay, CA 96140   |  
Hotel amenities
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
“Awesome Place to stay in Lake Tahoe!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Our 3rd time there...the only place we stay when in Lake Tahoe.
Tastefully decorated rooms - with a cabin feel. Great breakfast's!
Bill, the host will even ask if you on a special diet - which he would make you for breakfast.
Close to the Shore parks, Shops, Casino's, and Ski Resorts!
We'll be back again!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

My wife and I were heading to Tahoe to stay with some friends at a Condo where there ended up not being enough room for all invited. I found Shooting Star nearby, and I am very glad that things worked out this way. The Inn Keeper, Bill is a genuinely good person who very obviously cares that everyone who stays leaves feeling better than they arrived. (Thank you Bill) The location is set in the woods, with a great, relaxing view of the lake and mountains, only walking distance to a couple bar /restaurants, convenience store, and Lake Tahoe itself. Our room was extremely spacious, clean, comfortable, and with the convenience of every attention to detail. There are several ski/snowboard resorts, shopping, and other activities within 10-15 minutes in either direction. I highly recommend staying at Shooting Star if you are planning a trip to Tahoe with someone special...!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

The guy I was dating planned a special get away for us (we live in Reno, NV) during 4th of July 2009 and this was the first Bed & Breakfast experience for both of us. The Shooting Star is located close enough to the Lake, but tucked away in a forest setting. The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated, the fireplace was romantic, the room was exceptionally clean, and full of special touches (I got a real kick out of the little yellow rubber ducky that was placed on our bath towels in the bathroom). The room had his & her robes and a beautiful view. And Bill was the exceptional host (his personality is very warm and friendly, makes you feel like you are truly at home, yet gives you privacy). The breakfast we woke up to the next morning was as beautiful as it was delicious (almost too pretty to eat). If anyone is considering a Bed & Breakfast in Tahoe, The Shooting Star is sure to please. Thank you Bill for a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

My husband and I decided to travel to Lake Tahoe after a business meeting in San Francisco (the drive is a breeze and a nice time to reconnect with each other). Thankfully I chose this wonderful b & b after seeing the photos and reading the lovely reviews. BELIEVE THEM!

Bill is the perfect host: making delicious breakfasts, suggesting hiking locations, and directing us to several fabulous dining places (our favorite is Spindleshanks) nearby. We stayed in the Aspen room which was very comfortable.

The b & b is located in Carnelian Bay - between Tahoe Vista and Tahoe City. Emerald Bay and Spooner Lake are two lovely spots to hike...only a few of the many we enjoyed. Driving around the lake was very enjoyable. We didn't experience much traffic so perhaps we went at a slower time. It was wonderful to come home to such a comfortable b & b after a day outdoors!

We are recommending this place to you and to friends. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We spend 5 days and 4 nights at the Shooting Star over Labor Day weekend and left feeling very relaxed and pampered. Bill does a great job seeing to your every need. I highly recommend the Aspen Suite for the king size bed, double sink and large walk in shower.

Hope to return during ski season!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

just a quick note here to say that we had a lovely time staying at the beautiful shooting star bed and breakfast on the north shore of lake tahoe. we stayed in the aspen room, and it was really really nice. nice big room, great king bed, and a killer double-headed shower. the whole bathroom was luxurious and excellent. the house was comfortable, and we had a fine time just sitting outside that night, drinking some wine and enjoying the gorgeous tahoe weather. bottom line--our time at the shooting star just couldn't have been nicer. oh yes, and the crepes the next morning as prepared by bill our host were excellent. a great breakfast to top off a great experience. cheers to the shooting star!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We just returned from a two-day stay at the Shooting Star and loved every minute of it! The Carnelian Room was well-appointed and immaculate. The owner, Bill, was the perfect host and the perfect cook. He is also most accommodating regarding breakfast times. The upstairs Great Room provides a wonderful view of the lake and is a terrific place to hang out and relax. Bill has some great restaurant tips. Book your stay with Bill. You'll be happy you did!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast

Address: 315 Olive St., Carnelian Bay, CA 96140
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Carnelian Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carnelian Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to North Lake Tahoe's calm and comfortable home away from home! A fun & friendly place to stay, with three unique rooms, private baths, hearty & healthy breakfasts, heated floors and free WiFi. The star is within walking distance to restaurants, trails, and the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.