We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IN LOVE WITH TAHOE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast
315 Olive St., Carnelian Bay, CA 96140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“IN LOVE WITH TAHOE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My mother and I recently met up in San Fran and drove up to Lake Tahoe to Bills gorgeous cabin in the woods (over looking the lake of course)

We stayed 5 nights and had an unreal experience.

Beautiful home and a quiet setting, perfect relaxation!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the Shooting Star. Our host, Bill, could not have been more accommodating....our schedule was his schedule. We like being in a quiet place but not too far from activities and the Shooting Star is just that. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We could walk to the lake and to a good restaurant and a wonderful place for coffee. A short and drive took us south to Tahoe City or north toward Tahoe Vista and Incline Village. An excellent location out of the hassle but still in the mix.

Room Tip: Ground floor room is an excellent choice for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Rustic cedar house well located for all things North Lake Tahoe. Large rooms, large common area/tv room. Bill is a really friendly guy who steered us to a great local bar/restaurant/hangout. It's barely off the main drag so very quiet. Very pleased we chose this spot to stay. And much better than average coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We loved, loved, loved this place! Bill built this house and small B&B from the ground up, and it shows in the attention to detail. This place is beautiful. Only three rooms, so it really feels intimate and inviting. It is tastefully decorated and has lots of nice spots to hang out to read a book, have a drink, play one of the many board games Bill has for guests, admire the lake views, or just relax.

We have stayed in lots of B&Bs with great morning breakfasts, but this is hands down the best we have ever had. Day in and day out, Bill cooked up a gourmet meal for us that kept us going for hours on the ski slopes. Truly delicious! He is a real pleasure to speak to and very laid back – welcoming and engaging without being overly imposing.

Our room (Bay Room) was really lovely. So sunny and bright with plenty of space and wonderful heated bathroom floors. The jetted tub was the perfect thing to come home to after a long day of skiing, and the fluffy towels, comfy robes, and nice bed completed the picture. The only thing we missed was a dresser (though there is plenty of closet hanging space), but we made due with some of the cubby holes in the bathroom, so no big deal.

Bill has a ton of local information, maps etc. on hand and provided us with great recommendations for restaurants. Our favorites were Spindleshanks in Tahoe Vista (they have live music on the weekends too) and Christy Hill in Tahoe City. Both within a few minutes drive. For ski rentals, definitely go to Tahoe Dave’s (any of their four locations, though the one in Tahoe City is the largest).

There is a lovely little beach with a nice walking path just across the street from the Shooting Star with great views of Lake Tahoe and the mountains. Also, a local Bar & Grill, store, post office, and Laundromat just down the street. Very convenient.

All in all, we loved our stay and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Loved the Bay Room! Great bathroom with jetted tub and heated floors, tons of light and space, and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Everything about our stay was relaxing, cozy and comfortable. The fountain in the foyer and peaceful music playing in the background were nice touches. Bill is an attentive host, tending to the needs of his guests without being intrusive. Each morning he prepares a full and delicious breakfast. Our room was spacious and the corner fireplace made it toasty warm. Although the location is easily accessible from the main road and the upstairs living room featured bay window views of Lake Tahoe, our downstairs room looked out on a fire station so we had to keep our curtains closed for privacy. Since I like outside natural light, this was my only complaint about Shooting Star. We would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Carnelian Room for 3 nights in January. Bill and Aimee were great hosts and provided a wonderful different breakfast each day: Frittata with bacon the first day, waffles with sausage the second day, and eggs (any way you want) with sausage the third day. All were beautifully plated with fruit and absolutely delicious.

Another couple were guests at the same time, but it was never uncomfortable. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean and modern as was everything else about the house. It was a short car ride to Mount Rose for snowshoeing and Northstar for skiing. It was the perfect weekend retreat. Gar Woods across the street has a great happy hour for food and drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in November and greatly enjoyed it. The inn is small, only three guest rooms, but the common areas are large, comfortable and well appointed. Bill, the owner, really put his heart into making this inn a great place for guests to spend a few days. He makes a tasty breakfast, but more importantly he makes you feel at home without compromising any of your privacy. Our guest room (the Carnelian, I think it was called) was well appointed and tastefully decorated like the rest of the inn. This place is very pleasant and has no drawbacks. Also a short walk to a couple of good restaurants and a convenience store. We had a very good experience and I recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast

Address: 315 Olive St., Carnelian Bay, CA 96140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Carnelian Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carnelian Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to North Lake Tahoe's calm and comfortable home away from home! A fun & friendly place to stay, with three unique rooms, private baths, hearty & healthy breakfasts, heated floors and free WiFi. The star is within walking distance to restaurants, trails, and the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shooting Star Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.