We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put this on your list of things to do in Tahoe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant

Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant
5000 North Lake Boulevard, Carnelian Bay, CA 96140
530-546-3366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front and Center
Transit: All local bus lines drop off and pick up in front of Gar Woods Grill & Pier
Description: Since 1988 Gar Woods Grill & Pier has been the premier North Lake Tahoe waterfront dining destination. Located in Carnelian Bay, our floor to ceiling windows, large deck and balconies provide breath-taking views of Lake Tahoe and the Sierras. Gar Woods Grill & Pier is an upscale casual restaurant that accommodates groups of 160 just as easily as groups of 2. Our Chef has created a menu highlighting California cuisine, hand cut steaks and fresh Pacific seafood, served in our fun in the sun atmosphere. The wine list is a collection of California's best-known vintners featuring more than a dozen wines by the glass. Enjoy Tahoe's warm summer days sitting on our waterfront deck while sipping on a world famous Wet Woody. With nearly two million sold you'll be in good company but come early to get a seat. When visiting during the ski season thaw out in front of our three story tall river rock fireplace with a Warm Woody or a Heavenly bottom. Lake Tahoe sunsets are our specialty.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Put this on your list of things to do in Tahoe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My family visits Tahoe once every year and we normally prepare meals each of the nights we are there, with the exception of the "Gar Woods" night. It has become a staple of our trips out west and we love it a little more each time we visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    103
    42
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folsom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Amazing View, Mediocre Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visited Gar Woods on a midweek jaunt up to Lake Tahoe. We have been to their sister restaurant, Riva Grill in South Shore, before and loved it so we had high expectations. We enjoyed a couple of their famous "Wet Woody's" which are always a treat to start of our night. For a starter, we shared a bowl of their lobster bisque with rock shrimp. This was by far one of the best soups I have ever head. The soup was rich and creamy yet felt light and velvety. The flavor was incredible and the texture was amazing. Add a salad and it would work as a complete meal. I am a huge risotto fan and also a huge crab fan. The menu has diver scallops over Dungeness crab risotto Two of my favorites on one dish...I am all over that. . All I can say is OMG!! The large scallops were cooked perfectly and did not have an ounce of grit that sometimes lingers in scallops. The risotto was rich and creamy and had a ton of crab flavor. The flavors of the crab and the scallops blended so well together that I was in heaven. My better half had the filet with shrimp which was good but paled in comparison to the risotto. The service was the only issue we had with Gar Woods. Our server seemed extremely rushed and very distracted while waiting on us. It was mid-week and the restaurant wasn't that busy to reflect that kind of distraction. Not the kind of service I would expect from a place of this stature.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“they cooked the fish we caught!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Expensive but fun, and the view from the porch was wonderful. We brought in the fish we caught in the morning and made a reservation for that evening. When we came in our fish was prepared for us. Delicious!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great dining on the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has a beautiful view of Lake Tahoe from the 2nd floor.

The food was pretty good, and service was also good. The signature drink however was not that good, at least to my tastes. Try it once, and enjoy the 151 floater on top.

It's really an unpretentious solid restaurant I'd likely frequent regularly if I lived nearby.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“always a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

we've had dinner here several times over the years. the food is always terrific, and the view of lake tahoe, especially from the outdoor deck is mesmerizing, especially at sunset. our server, michelle, was attentive, engaging and professional. i had the halibut, my wife a sea bass special. the portions are very generous, and both our fish were perfectly prepared. we arrived for dinner on a sunday night, with a reservation. the place was packed and busy as expected, and we were seated within 15 minutes of our scheduled reservation. while definitely pricey, i believe it to be good value for the amount of food, and the ambiance, along with good service, more than make up for entrees price at $38 on average. tons of signature "woody" cocktails, and a diverse wine list are offered.
we just love the place and always look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant also viewed

Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.