We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rustic Sunbathed Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley

Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley
6 Pilot Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9515
831-659-5020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6PILOT RD
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Rustic Sunbathed Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Vineyard Bistro at 6 Pilot Road in the Carmel Valley Village is well worth the drive to enjoy its charming setting of tasty selections, both inside its cozy adobe and outside in the garden, where dogs are welcomed too. The menu appears to be flirting with French cuisine.However, the owner and his son are Peruvian and selection of Peruvian entrées would be a welcomed addition to their very good selections. I would recommend that a tad less oil be used in the preparation of their selections in order to better ensure the pleasurable tastes afforded by the chef's well proportioned selection of spices and herbs. Dinning at The Vineyard Bistro is not a rushed experience, nor should it be as we are unfortunately too accustomed to doing. One should enjoy the pleasures of dinning in a relaxed fashion and this bistro offers it in a most welcomed way. There is room for gradual improvement and with the support of discriminating customers, who care to offer their recommendations in a constructive fashion, this will be achieved to everyone's pleasure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    23
    16
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great lunch in Carmel Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We just had lunch here and thought everything was great. This place is tucked down a side street, so the outdoor seating is very pleasant. We both had the vegetable panini, and it was truly delicious (hint: get it on the sour dough bread). The prices were extremely reasonable, including the wines by the glass. The decor inside is very charming. Give this place a try next time you are in Carmel Valley.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great date spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful dinner here. We chose to sit inside because it was chilly out. The ambiance is very cozy. The service was prompt and knowledgable. The chef/owners son was our waiter and took great care of us. He knew a lot about all the local wines. I had the pork chop witch had a great apple chutney. Next time we will come for lunch so we can sit outside and enjoy the views of the valley!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Save Your Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice outdoor seating area, very attentive service, reasonable prices and POOR food. I just don't get it. We literally walked into the wrong place. The Cork Screw restaurant is right around the corner.

Everything tastes like it came right off a Sysco Fast Food Supply truck. From salad to soup and bread to sandwiches preparation was completely uninspiring. With at least four good other choices within walking distance Vineyard Bistro shouldn't even be considered.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for dinner out in the Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a spot that almost gives Rustica a run for the money. Very nice atmosphere, you can eat inside or out, excellent selection and always friendly people serving and managing. I had the rack of lamb and it was cooked exactly as it should be, not over or undercooked like it happens so many other places. My friend had the halibut and the sauce was perfect. Pricing is a little on the high side, but given the quality of both the food and the service, the nice atmosphere and the fact you can get in the door, this is a very fair deal. I like how Jimmy comes around to the table to make sure everything is ok-I think they really do care about the customer's experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley also viewed

 

Been to Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.