We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for dinner out in the Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley

Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley
6 Pilot Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9515
831-659-5020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6PILOT RD
monterey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for dinner out in the Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a spot that almost gives Rustica a run for the money. Very nice atmosphere, you can eat inside or out, excellent selection and always friendly people serving and managing. I had the rack of lamb and it was cooked exactly as it should be, not over or undercooked like it happens so many other places. My friend had the halibut and the sauce was perfect. Pricing is a little on the high side, but given the quality of both the food and the service, the nice atmosphere and the fact you can get in the door, this is a very fair deal. I like how Jimmy comes around to the table to make sure everything is ok-I think they really do care about the customer's experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“slow and poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The outdoor setting was charming, but stay away from this restaurant. We told them we had a performance to attend, and they said to arrive 90 minutes before we had to leave. We did so, but we barely made our performance!

The bread was stale, and when they brought new, warm bread, it appeared that it was warmed up stale bread!

The sole was horribly mushy, as if it had been frozen and then microwaved. The French onion soup was ok, but nothing special and the bowl was small for the price. The only things that were in the good category were the asparagus and stuffed mushrooms, although there were only 5 mushrooms for $8. The mashed potatoes were over-spiced.

The place was pretty empty, and although the soup and salad came quickly, there was no excuse for taking more than 45 minutes to serve the barely edible fish and the mushrooms! The waiter did not let us know what the big delay was about.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been dining here since Jimmy opened several years ago. We have never had a disappointing meal. The staff is friendly and professional.

You can't beat the beautiful patio on a warm Carmel Valley day. And althogh it is as good as it's competitors, it is rarely crowed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful summer evening dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The food here was delicious, and it was an extra treat to sit outside on the lovely patio. The staff was friendly and the wine was great. This is our first vacation in Carmel Valley, and we are impressed by the high standards for dining.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel valley, california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I've gone through quite a few iterations of this location - maybe over a dozen. All of them have actually been quite nice and this one isn't an exception. The service is excellent. The staff always makes every effort to remember their customers and their likes and dislikes. Whenever we dine there I'm asked if I want my cappuccino. And they make a very good cappuccino - not as good as Italy but then no one does as good as Italy.

Their menu changes to reflect the season and tomato season is always a big treat. They often have vegetarian soups and are very accommodating about making menu changes.

The outdoor patio is wonderful during the good days and most days are very good. The owner always makes a point of visiting customers and chatting with them. Really a lovely experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley also viewed

 

Been to Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.