We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Portions - Delicious Fare!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rustica

Cafe Rustica
10 Del Fino Pl, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
831-659-4444
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Huge Portions - Delicious Fare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed sitting on the patio and appreciated the heater after it became cool. Incredible beet salad for me and my husband enjoyed the Eggplant Napoleon very much. Both dishes were huge. We split a pizza which was outstanding...took some to go!! Then drove to Carmel to walk:). A wonderful, favorite dining experience. Great mix of locals and first timers.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    62
    12
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best restaurant anywhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

There are not enough words to say how wonderful the food at Cafe Rustica is. Scrumptious beyond belief. Can't wait to go there every time we are in the Carmel Area. Have been going there for years. We were just there and had both a fabulous dinner and the next day an equally fabulous lunch. For dinner we started by sharing the Beet Salad with Curry Dressing. Sounds a little odd but is wonderful. The dressing flavor is subtle and goes so well with the beets and feta cheese and red lettuce, etc. For my entree I had the Salmon. More deliciousness. Fresh, flavorful, excellent. My husband had the Rustica Pasta and loved it. I can't think of a restaurant anywhere that I like better than this one and I've traveled far and wide throughout the world. The ambience and service are as great as the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great thin crust 'za”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I am a huge fan of thin crust pizza. BTW, going to college in Western MA in the pioneer valley we always called pizza 'za. While wine tasting today at the Talbott Vineyard, we asked our wine steward for a reco for a quick and light lunch. She suggested grabbing a pizza to go from Cafe Rustica to enjoy on Talbott's patio. What a great idea. We walked across the street and ordered two 'zas because we couldn't make a decision. We enjoyed Joe's Pizza Verde with just the right touch of southwest pizazz. We also loved the Lorraine, aptly named, because it tasted almost like a quiche with TDF bacon flavor. Ah, bacon, makes everything better. We had leftovers that will make a perfect lunch tomorrow. Next time we visit Carmel Valley, we plan to dine at Cafe Rustica for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Great value, the chef came out and explained what was the specials and delivered a very good value and taste meal

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Lovely restaurant, exceptional food and experienced staff. I was very comfortable as an unaccompanied woman in the restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rustica also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rustica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.