We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but questionable servce.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rustica

Cafe Rustica
10 Del Fino Pl, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
831-659-4444
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Good food, but questionable servce.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited Carmel Valley last week end and entertained my sister, a local resident, at Café Rustica. My sea bass (a special of the night) was excellent, Sis much approved of her routine looking chicken caeser salad (not caring about the absence of anchovies, and wife Patty had little good to say about the short ribs (another specialty of the night). Our only significant complaint was the wait service seemed disorganized and then became just plain grumpy once we suggested that perhaps it was time that we should be permitted to order dinner. And so it goes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    65
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Best beet salad we have ever had. We also recommend the mushroom pizza and braised short ribs which were excellent. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tustin, Ca.
1 review
“Au gratin perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Coastgal09, we returned to Cafe Rustica for all the same reasons as you mentioned, but were not disappointed as you were. We, however, did not see the owner either. The lamb was perfect, but the au gratin potatoes were heavenly. This restaurant is still our one of our favorites and a reason to visit Carmel Valley.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Party of 5 we had a fabulous time with 2 shared apps 2 bottles of wine, 3 entrees, 2 had-soup and salad for dinner instead of entree for a bill of about 65.00 each. The wait staff were very knowledgeable about food and wine great relaxing evening the Sole fish special was delish !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Warmth and yummyness....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beautiful setting, felt like I was back in Provence, France...they really had it down, the sauces, preparations, flavors...generous and satisfying,,,nice atmosphere,,,we had a good waitress who was efficient and professional... Enjoyed the eggplant salad appetizer, ravioli, fresh local sole fish dish, veggies, rhubarb desserts all around....yummy and happy, thanks- Merci beaucoup, c'etait tout a fait exquis!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rustica also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rustica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.