We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corkscrew Cafe

Corkscrew Cafe
55 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
831-659-8888
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
San Clemente, California
1 review
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Food from the Catalonian Coast, our meals were delicious! I tried the seafood pasta; a softly spiced medley of mussels, clams, and squid in a tomato-based broth over curly linguini pasta; and loved every bite. My only complaint was that bread was not presented before or with the meal to soak up every drop of the left over juices. My wife's short ribs were cooked to perfection, tender and juicy. The chef was happy to accommodate her request to substitute spinach for the Brussels sprouts on the menu, and served them up with some tasty onions. The folks at the table next to us had all ordered individual pizzas, which they seemed to definitely enjoy as well. The restaurant itself has a delightful Old World ambiance, and a huge selection of wines that we were too tired to indulge in. On top of everything, they had a pretty cool collection of novelty corkscrews, well worth a visit on their own.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    48
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best lunch spot in Carmel Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

What is not to love? The ambience of the courtyard, the delicious wines, the fabulous food, the lovely staff, etc, etc. I have never had a bad meal or a poor glass of wine here. In my opinion, this is the only place for lunch in Carmel Valley. I make a point of having lunch here every time I visit the area (along with some of the great tasting rooms down the street). Stop in for wine and appetizers or lunch - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service has slipped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been to this charming café on multiple occasions. In the past it was lively with good food and wine. They have recently changed the menu and the service was not up to par. There were not many customers so I don't understand the lack of attention. I will try it again in a months time to reevaluate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corral de Tierra, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful New Year's Eve dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Warm and cozy atmosphere, festive for New Year's Eve but not loud and raucous. Wonderful dinner with unique flavorings made for a perfect start of New Year's eve celebrations.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“The pizza ranks above those in Italy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Went there on a perfect Winters sunny and warm day. sat on the patio. ordered the Meyer Lemon Pizza which was world class. we are both foodies and travel extensively in the US and Italy. This pizza far surpassed any we've had in all of Italy. We hear their wine is also top notch. Highly recommend this over many spots in Carmel and Monterey.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corkscrew Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Corkscrew Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corkscrew Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.