We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corkscrew Cafe

Corkscrew Cafe
55 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
831-659-8888
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pure Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you truly want one of the most incredible meals anywhere the Corkscrew Cafe is the place the atmosphere is truly romantic light really anything you want it to be so when you visit beautiful Carmel Valley do not miss it!!!.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    68
    43
    15
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Personal Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I love the ambiance of this place! I took my husband here for his birthday on a recommendation from a local (you know it's a good place when a local highly recommends it!). We arrived only an hour before closing, but this place did not have a turning-away feel to it as many locally owned restaurants may have just before closing. They were very accommodating). The place was only a block away from our lodge (a great place called Carmel Valley Lodge). There is a warm ambiance in the dining room although we sat out in the patio as it was a nice warm evening. We told our waiter that it was my husband's birthday and he asked, "oh! do you like red or white wine sir?" He then promptly gave us both a glass of wine on the house and refilled his for free as well. We ordered the fire roasted trout (excellent) that had a butter sauce , broccolettes, and fingerling potatoes. We also shared the roasted beet salad that was a tad on the small side especially for being over $10. For desert, we had the chocolate mousse which was excellent as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Pizza I have ever eaten”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Don't have the fig pizza it hasn't got enough topping on it and it's very dry and charred on the bottom.I sent it back and the next one wasn't any better! My husband had a different variety and his was lovely .They need to rethink this topping.Spoilt our whole night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by one of the staff at a winery we had visited earlier in the day. The exterior, facing a parking lot, would not have attracted us to the place, but once inside the atmosphere was very pleasant - rustic, comfortable. (We didn't see the patio - it was a very hot day and we decided to eat inside.)

The menu was varied but relatively small, not trying to be all things to all people. While making our decisions, the waiter informed us that they had just finished making gazpacho, traditional tomato based but with mango added. I love gazpacho so that was a go for me. In addition I ordered a BLT. Our friends got the BLT and an heirloom tomato salad.

The gazpacho was great; the mango added a pleasant complexity and slight sweetness. The tomatoes in the salad were in season and tangy-sweet. The BLT's were very good but the toasted bread was slightly burned. We mentioned that to the waiter, and he apologized and said he would tell the cook. (I'm surprised at how many times I get burned bread in various restaurants - it shouldn't be too hard not to burn the bread, but maybe no one complains?)

The ingredients in our food were very fresh and the preparations light-handed. I would definitely recommend this restaurant, despite the burned toast!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice setting, excellent food, service could have been better (dippy waitress) all in all I would recommend this restaurant. The short ribs were excellent .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corkscrew Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Corkscrew Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corkscrew Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.