We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STEAKS ON THE PATIO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Will's Fargo Steakhouse and Bar

Will's Fargo Steakhouse and Bar
16 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
+1 831-659-2774
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Drive
Description: Will's Fargo Steakhouse and Bar became a landmark steakhouse in 1959 and has been a peninsula favorite for over 55 years. Entering Will's is stepping back into a time when fine food and service were the rule, rather than the exception. An intimate courtyard patio offers seasonal outdoor dining. Will's also features an intriguing small saloon with a full bar that pours an honest drink and features a lighter menu, including such standards as salads, burgers, and other delectable items. Dinner from 4:30pm nightly. Indoor and outdoor seating available.
Mentone, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GREAT STEAKS ON THE PATIO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a great dinner on the patio on a Monday night. Service was great. One salmon and 3 Rib Eye steaks all cooked correctly. We have eaten here many times since 1977, and glad to see Will's is still a decent place go. Change has affected all the world, but by and large I would recommend Will's as a great place to have dinner. And on a Monday, when many other stores are closed, they did a nice job of caring flor us..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“5/15/14 dinner was a disapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were told at Bernardus Winery that this was a good place to go. Surrounding were nice appetizers good main course a disappointment. I ordered the prime rib special med rare and got well done with no flavor. I showed this to the waiter and he told me that the chef said I had received the last med rare they had. Seriously my 5:30 PM order and they ran out of med rare and gave me well done and did not offer to make this right.
Carmel Valley has some great restaurants but this is not one of them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprise breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Steak and eggs were perfect. Help your self Bloody Mary bar. Open weekends for breakfast and brunch/ food and service very good. Just started opening for breakfast on weekends. Great news.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
410 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This restaurant came recommended but was not impressed. Loud, food only fair and way over priced. Felt like a tourist & fudged like one too

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mmm STEAK!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Wills Fargo has been here for years. My grandfather used to come here and picked out his own steak from the butcher up front. Sadly, there is no more butcher up front.

The place is dark...romantic, in ways. Old Carmel charm.

My husband celebrated Valentine's Day here. We ordered the calamari appetizer. It literally comes in a giant salad bowl! So much squid! Our meal came with a soup or salad. We both chose the lobster bisque and liked it. I had the ribeye and a baked potato as my entree and I fell in love! It was so good! Flavorful, moist, and perfect. My husband ordered something similar and liked it as well.

Pricey, but great for a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Will's Fargo Steakhouse and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Will's Fargo Steakhouse and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Will's Fargo Steakhouse and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.