We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Will's Fargo Restaurant

Will's Fargo Restaurant
16 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
+1 831-659-2774
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Will's Fargo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Drive
Description: Will's Fargo Steakhouse and Bar became a landmark steakhouse in 1959 and has been a peninsula favorite for over 55 years. Entering Will's is stepping back into a time when fine food and service were the rule, rather than the exception. An intimate courtyard patio offers seasonal outdoor dining. Will's also features an intriguing small saloon with a full bar that pours an honest drink and features a lighter menu, including such standards as salads, burgers, and other delectable items. Dinner from 4:30pm nightly. Indoor and outdoor seating available.
Carmel Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprise breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Steak and eggs were perfect. Help your self Bloody Mary bar. Open weekends for breakfast and brunch/ food and service very good. Just started opening for breakfast on weekends. Great news.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This restaurant came recommended but was not impressed. Loud, food only fair and way over priced. Felt like a tourist & fudged like one too

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mmm STEAK!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Wills Fargo has been here for years. My grandfather used to come here and picked out his own steak from the butcher up front. Sadly, there is no more butcher up front.

The place is dark...romantic, in ways. Old Carmel charm.

My husband celebrated Valentine's Day here. We ordered the calamari appetizer. It literally comes in a giant salad bowl! So much squid! Our meal came with a soup or salad. We both chose the lobster bisque and liked it. I had the ribeye and a baked potato as my entree and I fell in love! It was so good! Flavorful, moist, and perfect. My husband ordered something similar and liked it as well.

Pricey, but great for a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterey, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and excellent for carnivores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a classic style restaurant with a cowboy flavor. The rack of lamb, the steaks, and the pork were all very well prepared and met our quality expectations. The price points for the wine list were quite high and unreasonably so. However, if you bring your own Bernardus wine there is no corkage.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Country Elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Husband and I had a lovely steak dinner. Attentive wait staff, fresh salad and veggies. My only complaint was that it was very dark. I and to use my cell phone to see what I was eating at different points throughout the meal. I ordered top sirloin and lobster, husband got the angus top sirloin, both excellent choices. Loved the romantic feel just wish there could have been a little more light. We will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Will's Fargo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Will's Fargo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Will's Fargo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.