We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old favorite, but disappointing service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Will's Fargo Restaurant

Will's Fargo Restaurant
W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
(831) 659-2774
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Will's Fargo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Carmel Valley
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Drive
Monterey Peninsula, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old favorite, but disappointing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants but last night was a bit disappointing. We were a party of five which is a bit odd sometimes difficult to accommodate. Because of this we had a table by the kitchen door where we kept getting bumped. It also took two hours to eat dinner and I had to pay someone down to pay the bill. Food and ambience are usually great will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“typical restaurant great food perfect service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

this is a nice place to eat. We had a carpaccio then a hamburger for 2 we paied less than 50 $you may eat simple meals or more complicated ones. a great choice from fish to meat. Theyxare open 7 nights a week. I really recommend this place

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“always an excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have been to Wills Fargo approximately 15 times and just love it. The food is consistently excellent. The servers are pleasant and knowledgable I had the salad with halibut and the salad with swordfish. Cooked perfectly, nice portion size, and pretty presentation. Always look forward to lunch at Wills Fargo when I visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What Happened?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

As a long time Carmel resident, I had not been to this great place in well over a year until tonight.
What happened? Clearly there is either a new chef or some sort of major change in management has happened.
The service was fine. The food was DREADFUL. Everyone in our party of 4 was served a terrible meal, in every way. What a serious disappointment- this used to be one of our favorite spots. I have never had such lousy food from here, and certainly do hope they figure it out quickly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“WOW, WONDERFUL WOMEN OF WINE, INVADES WILLS FARGO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a great night 43 wonderful Women of Wine, WOW, had at Wills Fargo last night. Exe Chef Jerome Veil dished out succulent short ribs, top sirloin, salmon and chicken to a very loud and happy group of women as Phillip talked to us and poured wonderful Bernardus wines. The wait staff was excellent and catered to our every need. We dined on the patio and really didn't need the heaters, not with that many women, LOL. A great place to eat, drink and be merry and a destination restaurant in lovely Carmel Valley Village.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Will's Fargo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Will's Fargo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Will's Fargo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.