We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The classic steakhouse with surprising cuisine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Will's Fargo Restaurant

Will's Fargo Restaurant
16 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
+1 831-659-2774
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Will's Fargo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Drive
Description: Will's Fargo Steakhouse and Bar became a landmark steakhouse in 1959 and has been a peninsula favorite for over 55 years. Entering Will's is stepping back into a time when fine food and service were the rule, rather than the exception. An intimate courtyard patio offers seasonal outdoor dining. Will's also features an intriguing small saloon with a full bar that pours an honest drink and features a lighter menu, including such standards as salads, burgers, and other delectable items. Dinner from 4:30pm nightly. Indoor and outdoor seating available.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“The classic steakhouse with surprising cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a classic steakhouse, in relatively rural countryside. It's not overpriced, but it's pricey, and the portion sizes compensate happily. We got traditional starter cocktails, a first round of a wedge and onion soup, then a filter w/ lobster surf and turf, and a steak tartare. We finished with a sauternes, then a couple espresso.... it was a wonderful, romantic time for a traditional steakhouse (not typically our thing). Carmel Valley is magical in general, so you might blame the beaming review on that. It looks like they have nice banquet space too for a dinner party, outside. For us, starter drink, first course, entrees, and dessert drink and coffee it was just over $100. This place seems to be getting hammered recently, and while I last went last Oct (2011), it's really always been a great spot. Will be back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buttonwillow, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will's Fargo Rocks!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Friendly waitresses and hostess, great steaks and generous portions plus a fabulous bar = a good time to be had by all!!! Try this place, you will not be disappointed. I had the ribeye the first night and the filet the second and both of them were fantastic!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Birthday Party Of Four”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

As best friends for over 37 years, we two couples take turns picking a place to celebrate our birthday months in April & July. Their choice of Will's Fargo was an excellent pick. Although not our first time, it had been several years since my husband and I had eaten there...back in the day when you could visually point out your own choice and cut of meat. Making a reservation just the night before, I mentioned it was our friend's birthdays so to please have candles on their desserts. Our first best decision was choosing a bottle of Tandre Pinot, then each of us had the mixed green salads/blue cheese, I opted for raspberry vinergarette (excellent). Hubbies chose the 8 ounce Filet, my BFF ordered the rack of lamb and I opted for the 5 oz Filet. All were cooked to perfection as ordered, paired so nicely with 3 of us having the twice baked potato and the perfect amount of fresh grilled veggies. The 3 of us sampled my husband's choice of French Fries which were very tasty too. Our server, Mira P. was GREAT! Lit candles arrived on our friends shared Banana Split as we dove into our Hot Fudge Sundae. Four Crown Royals and one designated driver made for an excellent birthday dinner and fun night....total w/tip...$308....worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Steak place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This a very casual steak place and watering hole where the locals hang. The steaks are very good and the prices are reasonable. Meals come with soup or salad. The service is attentive and friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Western Style Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Wills Fargo is now part of the Bernardus group, and it shows from the menu choices, the food preparation, and the wine list (many Bernardus selections). Very much a relaxed western style beef heaven, as opposed to the stuffy (and overly expensive) New York style steakhouses in such renown with the expense account set. My wife had the filet, and I the ribeye--both were good quality meat cooked to perfection. The fries are seriously to die for (same fries are also served at Wickets). As the pun in the name suggests, Wills Fargo is a fun place, relaxing, and filling.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Will's Fargo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Will's Fargo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Will's Fargo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.