We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in the Carmel Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wickets

Wickets
415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9417
831-658-3400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wickets is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laureles Grade
Solvang, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Delicious food in the Carmel Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had breakfast and dinner at Wickets Bistro while staying at the Bernardus Lodge. Our food was delicious and the staff very helpful and attentive. I enjoyed the chicken hash for breakfast and their omelets are very good and a good portion. My wife particularly enjoyed their chicken liver pate. My “big-eye” tuna was also very good and well-prepared. One great feature is the outdoor patio, and we enjoyed drinks by the fireplace a couple of times. Our waiter even knew our drink preferences. Mine was a Monterey Rye Manhattan – perfectly prepared. Great food and wonderful staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    36
    19
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific wine and Outdoor CA at its best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Marinas 2009 was was superb.
The grilled artichoke was extremely fresh. The food is good overall, while the setting is beautiful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Choice To Eat in Carmel Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am a vegan. The chef was very accommodating. When you call to make a reservation they will ask if you have any food sensitivities. The food is extremely fresh. You can dress casual. They have a fire pit which it is great to sit and eat dessert/drink coffee.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We liked everything about it. Every need was met and with a smile!!! The menu changes daily and everything that was ordered was presented beautifully!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had tried to book a table at Bernardus' fine dining restaurant but it is closed during the early part of each week. We were offered a reservation at Wickets and decided to try it. We are glad we did. The food is excellent as was the service we received. We asked for an off menu starter and for a change of sides with our main course entrees. Unlike many restaurants these days, each of our requests was met with a great attitude and an "of course we can accomodate your request". Coffee service and desert were worthy of the rest of the meal. We would return in a heartbeat although we are looking forward to a return to the main dining room in July as this is a real treat. I am skeptical of those reviews that were less than "very good" as this is a super place for a casual but excellent meal that is well paced and enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickets also viewed

 

Been to Wickets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.