We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous! Best of Carmel area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marinus At Bernardus Lodge

Marinus At Bernardus Lodge
415 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9417
831-659-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Marinus At Bernardus Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: French, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Laureles Grade
Oregon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tremendous! Best of Carmel area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We visited Marinus as part of a little foodie vacation to the Carmel area. What a standout! It was by far the best meal of our trip, and we had plenty of excellent meals.

The dining room reminded me of the old Tavern on the Green. We enjoyed a comfortable corner banquette, which the maitre d noted was excellent for people watching (it was).

Service was perfect - attentive without being obsequious. Every bite of the food, from the amuse bouche to the dessert, was spectacular. From start to finish, it was a first-class dining experience, well worth the price.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    16
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It'll cost ya, but it's worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Some old friend and my wife and I had my birthday dinner at Marinus at Bernardus last October. I'm still making payments...just kidding. What an incredible joy to find my name on the menu for my birthday meal, fine wine to go with it, and an incredible selection of meticulously conceived and prepared dishes to choose from for the meal. I won't reveal what we ate; you'll have to savor the choices yourself. I will share that the 2010 Bernardus Chard, while hard to come by, is the best, and that joining good friends for a no-money-discussed celebration of a landmark, in my case 60 years on the planet, at place of this high quality, is what money is for. Enjoy! Bon apetit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“For foodies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is an acclaimed restaurant that serves stuff like elk tartare. I made that up. But I've had venison (not that great, but maybe it was if you like venison), and most dishes are gourmet, meaning unusual, not always something you'd order again, small portioned, and expensive.I did go there once for a truffle night. Very good, but super pricey. Next time Andrew Zimmern is visiting, take him here, especially if Travel Channel's paying.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a very nice environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The food and the wine in the Marinus are outstanding. Make sure you take the sommelier selection of wine that fits to your menu. Everything has so much taste and is so well presented.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The big one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Marinus at Bernardus Lodge in the Carmel Valley is the gourmet restaurant on the Monterey Peninsula. Located beautifully to remind of Provence this is a great escape on a foggy day.
"Yes," it is expensive and at dinner the service can be over the top but how many birthdays or anniversaries do you have?" The food is excellent, fresh and largely local, the wine list is extensive and includes the house vineyards. This is not a place for children who likely will bored although there is service outdoors which is particularly nice for lunch. Reservations are essential.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinus At Bernardus Lodge also viewed

 
Carmel Valley, CA
 

Been to Marinus At Bernardus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marinus At Bernardus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.