We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marinus At Bernardus Lodge - CLOSED

Marinus At Bernardus Lodge
415 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9417
831-659-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Laureles Grade
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We ate at the chef's table in the kitchen and enjoyed a 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing. This was easily the best dinner we have ever had. The courses were creative and nicely varied. The hospitality of the chefs was overwhelming, especially Chef de Cuisine Abby. It's expensive, but if you can afford it, do it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gfranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over priced and not worth it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was the second time that we tried the Marinus at Bernardus Lodge. This restaurant is so expensive and we can't figure out why. The food is very mediocre and the ambiance is just so so. Better to have dinner in the Pub down the hall. Not impressed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelpal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Elegant and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had New Year's Eve dinner here, and it was well planned and prepared. There were three choices I each of six courses, all sounded yummy. The Wagyu beef is the best I've had. Service was not as polished as we have had there before, but still professional. The dining room is beautiful and the dishes, flat wear, and crystal are lovely.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I ordered the chef's multi-course tasting menu which was excellent - right-sized portions, creative and delicious, served by friendly and accommodating staff. They allowed us to split a wine pairing, which greatly added to the dining experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goldenwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
256 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 753 helpful votes
“Beautiful presentation and outstanding cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is fine dining at it's best. Professional service without being pretentious. Some of the prettiest looking dishes we have ever seen. Interesting, seasonal ingredients and delicious preparations. Truly a special meal!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinus At Bernardus Lodge also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel Valley, CA
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing