We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marinus At Bernardus Lodge - CLOSED

Marinus At Bernardus Lodge
415 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9417
831-659-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: French, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Laureles Grade
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We ate at the chef's table in the kitchen and enjoyed a 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing. This was easily the best dinner we have ever had. The courses were creative and nicely varied. The hospitality of the chefs was overwhelming, especially Chef de Cuisine Abby. It's expensive, but if you can afford it, do it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    18
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced and not worth it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was the second time that we tried the Marinus at Bernardus Lodge. This restaurant is so expensive and we can't figure out why. The food is very mediocre and the ambiance is just so so. Better to have dinner in the Pub down the hall. Not impressed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Elegant and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had New Year's Eve dinner here, and it was well planned and prepared. There were three choices I each of six courses, all sounded yummy. The Wagyu beef is the best I've had. Service was not as polished as we have had there before, but still professional. The dining room is beautiful and the dishes, flat wear, and crystal are lovely.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I ordered the chef's multi-course tasting menu which was excellent - right-sized portions, creative and delicious, served by friendly and accommodating staff. They allowed us to split a wine pairing, which greatly added to the dining experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
725 helpful votes 725 helpful votes
“Beautiful presentation and outstanding cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is fine dining at it's best. Professional service without being pretentious. Some of the prettiest looking dishes we have ever seen. Interesting, seasonal ingredients and delicious preparations. Truly a special meal!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinus At Bernardus Lodge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marinus At Bernardus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.