We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marinus At Bernardus Lodge - CLOSED

Marinus At Bernardus Lodge
415 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9417
831-659-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: French, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Laureles Grade
Monterey, California
1 review
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ambience was great, food was delicious, and they had a huge selection of wine list. Portion of food should have been larger. My husband ordered scallops from entree menu and was served with 2 scallops.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    18
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best special occasion meal we have had in quite sometime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

from the cocktail to the wine selection and finally the Black Truffle Risotto - over the top. Just exquisite.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I did ordered the tasting menu. Everything was absolutely delicious. I wanted to lick the plates clean! The dessert was underwhelming. It was smaller than I imagined. I know after 5 courses of delicious food, guests might feel full. But I felt the chocolate buttermilk cake should have been larger.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Extraordinary food. While not cheap, it is a GREAT value. Would go back tomorrow. Fabulous wine list. Extraordinary presentation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

On very short notice, we booked the Bernardus Lodge for one night and also made reservations at Marinus for the night we arrived. The time slots available were 6:00 pm and 8:30, so I chose the 6:00 time slot. We were seated immediately, and everything went very smoothly. We chose to do the chef’s tasting menu (with wine pairing for one person, which they let us split between the two of us). There was one dish on the menu which neither of us would be able to eat (personal preference, not an allergy issue) and the chef was gracious enough to make a substitution (which we both thought was one of the better dishes we ate that evening!) It was a lovely meal – the food was great, the service was exemplary, and I’d be very happy to have dinner there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinus At Bernardus Lodge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marinus At Bernardus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.