We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nourishing, Flavorful Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lokal Restaurant

Lokal Restaurant
13762 Center Street, Carmel Valley, CA
1 (831) 659-5886
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lokal Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 24 Restaurants in Carmel Valley
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Santa Clara, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nourishing, Flavorful Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stopped by for a late lunch upon the recommendation of the tasting room staff at Joyce. It was a perfect, relaxed place to eat after wine tasting. The poached eggs and greens were delicious as was the BLT with egg. Good coffee and nice relaxed seating outside on a warm winter afternoon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    16
    13
    1
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watsonville, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Started off with dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Exploring the village, stopped in at Lokal (I heard about it on the internet). The waitress working was very knowledgeable, and patient as the group didn't know if we were ready to eat, just wanted to have something to drink or what. When a drink was decided to be in order, then it took 3 of the 4 of us to figure out what that would be, and the waitress kindly and patiently offered tastings of the beers and wine. While drinking our beverages, we decided to start with a dessert that was on the chalkboard wall and it was heavenly. A chocolate mouse with olive oil and sea salt - definitely a good choice (provided by our waitress). While there (we were only the second party to arrive) the first party was being served their meal and what went by definitely looked very appetizing and smelled great. We will definitely come back for a full dinner the next time in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

we're lunch patrons like the fresh well prepared reasonable priced fare. tried dinner last night , blown away. the Alaskan and the California halibut , yep we had both .were each uniquely presented and popcorn squash soup then Eggnog dessert. Oh my.
Don't come here if you don't have time to wait for food but find time to complain or misunderstand the term family style serving. Star quality chef, nice staff outside patio.Happy holidays.
Mike & Sunday

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“AMAZING Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Came here on the recommendation of a friend and was blown away. It's a small kitchen and they are still working out some growing pains, so be ok with waiting a bit. But the food is completely worth it. Hands down one of the best meals I've had in years. The flavors are so perfect. There wasn't a single bite left. Also, the visit by Patches the dog was a cute surprise - he was our buddy at the table for the night!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews of Lokal, we expected great food but dodgy service. We came for lunch on a Saturday and we were pleasantly surprised by all aspects of our dining experience. First, the food was splendid--fresh ingredients expertly cooked. Second, the service was friendly and wonderful. Our server always checked in with us and catered to our every need. Third, the atmosphere was quite nice--huge windows, lots of sunshine and interiors that are very Carmel Valley chic. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lokal Restaurant also viewed

 
Carmel Valley, CA
 

Been to Lokal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lokal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.