We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started off with dessert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lokal Restaurant

Lokal Restaurant
13762 Center Street, Carmel Valley, CA
1 (831) 659-5886
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lokal Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 27 Restaurants in Carmel Valley
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Watsonville, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Started off with dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Exploring the village, stopped in at Lokal (I heard about it on the internet). The waitress working was very knowledgeable, and patient as the group didn't know if we were ready to eat, just wanted to have something to drink or what. When a drink was decided to be in order, then it took 3 of the 4 of us to figure out what that would be, and the waitress kindly and patiently offered tastings of the beers and wine. While drinking our beverages, we decided to start with a dessert that was on the chalkboard wall and it was heavenly. A chocolate mouse with olive oil and sea salt - definitely a good choice (provided by our waitress). While there (we were only the second party to arrive) the first party was being served their meal and what went by definitely looked very appetizing and smelled great. We will definitely come back for a full dinner the next time in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    4
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

we're lunch patrons like the fresh well prepared reasonable priced fare. tried dinner last night , blown away. the Alaskan and the California halibut , yep we had both .were each uniquely presented and popcorn squash soup then Eggnog dessert. Oh my.
Don't come here if you don't have time to wait for food but find time to complain or misunderstand the term family style serving. Star quality chef, nice staff outside patio.Happy holidays.
Mike & Sunday

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Came here on the recommendation of a friend and was blown away. It's a small kitchen and they are still working out some growing pains, so be ok with waiting a bit. But the food is completely worth it. Hands down one of the best meals I've had in years. The flavors are so perfect. There wasn't a single bite left. Also, the visit by Patches the dog was a cute surprise - he was our buddy at the table for the night!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After reading reviews of Lokal, we expected great food but dodgy service. We came for lunch on a Saturday and we were pleasantly surprised by all aspects of our dining experience. First, the food was splendid--fresh ingredients expertly cooked. Second, the service was friendly and wonderful. Our server always checked in with us and catered to our every need. Third, the atmosphere was quite nice--huge windows, lots of sunshine and interiors that are very Carmel Valley chic. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Horrible service and mediocre food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just about the worst service we have ever seen. We have been there twice, once for breakfast and once for dinner. Each visit was characterized by seemingly endless waits, delivery of the dinner items (quasi tapas dishes) in a random order as cooked (we were warned) so that each of us got to watch the other person eat, and then they got to watch us eat with long waits in-between, very small portion sizes, and irritable servers. Warning: Don’t ever politely ask them what happened to the meal or be prepared for a lot of muttering and snide comments. We did the breakfast first and then went back for more punishment on another day for dinner (yes we should have known better but we were out in the Valley and wanted to give it another try despite the initial weak impression-our mistake).

The place looked nice from the outside, sort of a rustic Cowboy Carmel Valley look. The décor certainly wasn’t a problem, the problem seemed to be that either the servers or management, or both, really don’t seem to care about whether the customer is happy or not. If they were, we don’t see how it could be quite this poor.

The food quality itself was all over the place. I had an eggs benedict (good) and he had his waffles with fruit. The waffles were undercooked and runny. I thought anyone could cook waffles easily-apparently not. The dinner dishes were tapas, and several were pretty good, but you didn’t get much of a serving size on each so the price got up there because you had to order several each in order to really get anything to eat. They were really more like appetizers than anything else. We had a couple of the on-tap brews, which were fine although served in tiny glasses, so there again you needed several in order to get through the long waits. Prices individually aren’t bad, but don’t think that you will get out without a really substantial bill due to the serving sizes.

One last warning-visit the restroom only after dinner-it was pretty grubby and obviously had not been cleaned up for a while. It would definitely be off-putting for most girls before dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lokal Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lokal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lokal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.