We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing way to taste wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georis

Georis
4 Pilot Rd., Carmel Valley, CA
831/659-1050
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 attractions in Carmel Valley
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing way to taste wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a delightful hour at Georis. DH and I shared a flight of the red wines which came with a small plate of two cheeses and some delicious, crusty bread baked next door at the Corkscrew Cafe. We were told the pours were equivalent to about one and half glasses and since this was not our first stop, we opted to share. In fact, we were encouraged to share. The five wines were all quite good -- and we are hard to please. We did our sipping outside in a rather quircky garden. It felt a bit like old California meets Europe. The colorful metal chairs looked like something from a European sidewalk cafe. We liked that we could pace our drkinking. We enjoyed reading the wine notes rather than having an overly talkative server give misinformation (which was the case at our previous stop). We bought a bottle of the pinot noir. Definitely adding Georis to our list for a return visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Go for the ambiance and the wine... On a nice day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great wine and beautiful grounds,. tasting room is a hacienda-type building with Spanish/Mexican type vintage repo artifacts, as well as dvds/books for sale. But what I really enjoy is the grounds, with native plantings, very "mission-esque", with tables set out for sipping and noshing. The tastings come with a fee- $15-25 IIRC. But you get 5-6 glasses of good pours to taste, along with a few cracker/cheese bites. The whites are great, and I also like the cab franc (red) when it is available. They are known for their Merlots, but I don't generally like Merlot. Their Merlot is actually drinkable to me :-)
Very nice relaxing venue to hang out for awhile. I am not sure I would enjoy venue as much if weather did not permit for outside seating.

Georis owns Corkscrew restaurant aside the tasting room, and it is a nice place to continue your Carmel Valley experience with a decent lunch, tho I am not overly impressed with the food. They also own La Bicyclette in Carmel as well as, to my knowledge, partial ownership in Casanova, a very upscale restaurant in Carmel with outstanding wine list.

I advise to come here on a day that is not rainy.... even a cool, clear day is enjoyable here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They seemed pre-occupied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

It was raining and we arrived a few minutes before they hung out their 'open' sign. We were placed at a table, were totally ignored by the staff for at least 20 minutes--no menus, no water, no specials described--and continued to be treated like 'step children' throughout the entire lunch. We will not revisit and we are LOUD locals.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Georis Wines will Make You Happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Right around the corner from the Corkscrew restaurant is Georis winery's tasting room. Georis does a really good job with premium and moderate Bordeaux-style wines (Merlot, Cab, Cab Franc), especially the merlots. I am especially fond of their super-premium Clos des Moutons (sheep pen). One can either enjoy a sit-down tasting on the Georis patio, or buy a bottle and take it next door to the Corkscrew for lunch.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great wine, great staff, great pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The staff is warm and welcoming, and the wines are excellent. They serve complimentary hors d'oeuvres when you purchase a wine tasting. Their wood-fired pizza is outstanding!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georis also viewed

 

Been to Georis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Georis to your Saves list