We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bernardus Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Certificate of Excellence
santa barbara
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

My husband and I traveled up to Carmel for a friends birthday. We arrived to the hotel late in the evening and John was there to welcome us, pour us a glass of wine and walk us to our room. The view from our room was simply stunning. The rooms were very well appointed, comfortable bed and a wonderful huge bath tub. The staff was only too willing to always answer any question for you yet not intrusive. We absolutely loved it and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to that area. And DONT FORGET to order the french fries. Hands down, the best I have ever had!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    71
    28
    14
    9
See reviews for
62
258
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We just stay at Bernardus for a quick weekend getaway and we were so pleased we picked it. We didn't do much research before hand and selected it last minute and it was such a nice suprise. It is in a beautiful setting and the staff is very helpful. The rooms are wonderful and the bathrooms are fabulous. I stay at a lot of 5 star properties and this was right up there with the rest of them.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

WIfe and I spent one night here back in December 2008. Beauitful room, great service and a fantastic, although pricey, meal at Marinus.

Definitely enjoyed the stay and recommendec my in-laws stay here o ntheiur current trip to California.

I used ot live in the area and saw them building this. Great locatio nand the weather is much better than staying in Carmel/Monterey (Foggy and cold b ythe coast)...usually 10 - 15 degrees warmer inland

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

This was an incredible hotel - the best I have ever stayed in! My husband and I stayed there for our 20th anniversary. We absolutely loved the setting! It was like being in Tuscany. We absolutely loved our beautiful room complete with a fireplace, a patio overlooking the vineyard ,two amazing bottles of wine and snacks. The service was unparalleled and the food exquisite.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone! This is my favorite hotel of all time! I can't wait to return!

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Everything about the Bernardus Lodge was just perfect from the moment we walked in the door. Rather than standing in line to check in, we were immediately greeted by a concierge, who offered us a complimentary glass of wine and invited us to lounge by the fire while she got our paperwork ready. That level of service set the tone for our entire stay. From valet parking our car, service in the restaurant, making recommendations for hikes in an area park, to our spa treatments, every staff member went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. The level of friendliness and attentiveness was exceptional.

We were also very happy with our room, which was the cheapest room available. The room was spacious, included a small table and seating area, small refridgerator, gas fireplace, and an outside deck with table and chairs. The bathroom was extremely large, with two sinks, a two-person soaking tub, and a separate shower. Also included in the room were snacks, a bottle and a half of wine, bottled water, and sodas. All were free and the concierge encouraged us to take them with us if we didn't consume them during our stay.

The fitness center is small, with only one treadmill, a couple of other cardio machines, free weights, and a bench. Although the pool is advertised as a lap pool, it really isn't ideal for lap swimming. It probably can only accomodate one lap swimmer at a time and there are no lane lines or lane markings on the pool bottom (so swimming straight could be a challenge, as well as knowing where the wall is for flip turns). Needless to say, there are also no backstroke flags or kickboards. But if you are a runner, there are fabulous opportunities for trail running (both flat and with hills) at the nearby (less the 5 min drive) Garland Ranch Regional Park. The park also a wide array of hiking opportunities, from short easy walks to strenuous climbs. The concierge was happy to give us a trail map and suggest trails.

We ate breakfast and dinner at Wickets (one of the hotel restaurants) and both meals were excellent. We also ate at Will's Fargo (associated with the hotel) and that meal was great as well. The soup and dessert were just average, but the steak and sides were perfect.

We were also very happy with our experience at the spa. Our treatment included a massage and soak in the jacuzzi tub. Again everything was perfect. We also enjoyed lounging by the fireplace in the common area of the spa and the soaking pool.

Overally, I would say that this resort is comparable to a Ritz-Carlton or other 5-star resort, but the price we paid for our room was half what I would expect to pay at such a resort.

  • Liked — amenities and level of service
  • Disliked — lap pool was not quite as advertised
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

We stayed at Bernardus in October and had a lovely autumn stay in the Carmel Valley. The property is well maintained and the staff very personalized and helpful. We enjoyed the spa treatments very much, but found the restaurant (Marinus) to be a bit too formal and expensive for our vacation style.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

This place is one of the most amazing hotels I’ve stayed in. With my work, I’ve stayed in a number of higher end properties and never enjoyed one like here.

This was the second trip to the hotel, and it was just as amazing as the first time. Hotel style is much along the “Not So Big House” books, with very subtle low key furnishings along the Craftsman ascetic, but high quality all the way. Sound deadening is excellent, and most of the rooms have really nice patios where you just want to sit & enjoy the beautiful views of the hills and enjoy the wine. You instantly feel at home in the room.

Service is excellent, one example being the valets remember you & you never have to ask for the car. They see you & bring it up, and give you bottles of water or if it’s raining, an umbrella to use for your trip out. The spa was just as good, with nothing wanting in the spa area. Food overall was excellent, we ate at Wickets and down at Will’s Fargo. (Will’s Fargo was much more low key, and a bit lower priced- good way to stretch the budget) Overall, the way the hotel staff treats you can’t help but relax. One tip, if you show up between 4-6 PM on Friday, they usually are doing a full wine tasting while you check in instead of the single glass. It’s a nice start to the weekend.

About the only objection is it’s a little pricey, but it was worth it. You’ll want to stay longer but that becomes more of the issue any anything else. It’s a fantastic place to enjoy with that significant other.

  • Liked — Amazing Service
  • Disliked — Pricing is on the very high side, but quality is there
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
10.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
9.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
18.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#3 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernardus Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic, pastoral and artistic, there's no place like Carmel Valley. And there's no better way to tap into the small-town charms than at Bernardus Lodge & Spa-an indulgent 28-acre escape. Tucked away among rolling vineyards and gardens, Bernardus invites you to savor the intimacy of a boutique resort with an epicurean spirit and a soothing soul. Retreat to the warmth of an old friend's rustic-chic ranch estate, where high-touch service welcomes you home. Here's your chance to unplug, unwind and savor time well spent, whether it's pursuing a new interest or perfecting the art of basking in the warm Carmel Valley sun. Stroll our organic chef's garden and watch a true garden-to-table experience. Grab a gourmet basket and find a picnic-perfect spot with your partner. Share a glass of Pinot. Dabble in Carmel Valley's endless pursuits, all curated by our local staff for the ultimate insider's experience. Then sink into the cozy furnishings of a redesigned guestroom open to the outdoors. Relax, reflect, rejuvenate and breathe deep. Bernardus captures the magic of Carmel-and the memories that matter most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley
Bernardus Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.