We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Carmel Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bernardus Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for two
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunny Carmel Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a lovely, classy, relaxing, beautifully landscaped place to get away. Looking forward to coming back. Great location--in the sunny valley, near lots of wine tasting rooms. And a fantastic restaurant (Marinus) right there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    61
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
51
215
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Spent two nights at Bernardus to attend the wedding of friends on the property. Very well done and we want to come back for weekend escapes. A terrific location and facility. A must for anyone in the Carmel Valley area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend enjoying all the amenities of the resort and surrounding Carmel valley. Such a beautiful place! The rooms were comfortable with gorgeous views and the fireplace came in handy for the cool mornings. Amenities, staff and restaurants are superb. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

What ever the weather our stay at Bernardus has not yet disappointed. Glorious weather this time in April allowed us to enjoy the relaxation by the pool, the peaceful spa and the beauty of the grounds. The food is fabulous! we enjoy the view from our room and the luxury of the bathrooms in the Santa Lucia Suites.
We are aware of the new management and hope that they will keep all that is spectacular about the Bernardus while refreshing the worn and tired. It is a fantastic location. All staff are fantastic. Billing could in fact be a problem as stated by Greg H.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband I and spent a glorious weekend here in March and truly enjoyed every moment. Upon arrival we were immediately greeted with a glass of Bernardus wine which really set the tone for the relaxing weekend to come. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a fireplace and a beautiful view of the gardens and Carmel Valley. The weather was perfect, chilly in the morning and evening but sunny and warm during the day. The pool is heated and there is crocket or bocce ball on the grounds. There was a gorgeous regional park near bye where we were able to take a leisurely stroll near a creek. The views are phenomenal, and the valley's mountains were dramatic and plush with green trees and foliage. We dined at both restaurants on the property and were impressed with the quality and service. Our dinner at Marinas was a highly memorable experience. My favorite part of our trip was my massage at the spa. My masseuse was amazing. My husband enjoyed the pianist who played in the lobby after our dinner Saturday night. He was entertaining and only enhanced our over all experience with his incredible talent. It was a nice change from the cold coast to revel in the sunshine and beauty of the Valley. We love Carmel Beach, and will come back to Bernardus in the future.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newboro, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Change of ownership has brought changes. We didn't know of a change of ownership on checkin but felt something was different (we've stayed here 5 times before). We are a member of leading hotels of the world which you pay to be a member and expect to receive certain benefits one of which is room upgrade if available which we did not receive even though the lodge was not booked. We pre paid our 5 day stay with Bernardus thru Leading Hotels as requested and the money was taken from our account 10 days before arrival. When we checked in we confirmed our payment and gave a credit card for incidentals. During our stay we checked our banking and found two separate charges amounting to about the amount of our stay even though we had prepaid for our stay. When questioned they said it was preauthorized and no payment would go through. Payment went through. We spoke to a manager and and he said he would look into it. We never heard back. We called our bank and had the charges reversed. The two separate charges were at best deceitful and possibly even fraudulent, after reading other reviews we realized Bernardus was under new management. Our experience is that front staff and management were hopeless. The staff you encounter around the property were friendly and very helpfull as always as in our previous experiences. This experience will definitely make us think again of staying here again. And indeed influenced our decision not to eat at the excellent Marinus restaurant as much our loss as theirs. We probably will try staying here once more because we've enjoyed it so much in the past but are certainly not impressed with this experience. In the meantime check your charges.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were looking for a weekend get away with our top priority being something quiet, close to Carmel and hiking, and great quality. This was it! We had stayed here before and enjoyed the location, proximity to Carmel by the Sea, Carmel Valley and Big Sur. It is a beautiful property with great amenities. Recommended!

Room Tip: As for quiet room as they have them! We stayed in #2 and never heard anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernardus Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is widely recognized as one of the top winemaking estates in California. Founded by celebrated winemaker Bernardus Pon, the Lodge resembles a classic European country inn, with 57 suites, a luxurious spa, award-winning restaurant and the Bernardus Winery and Vineyard. For a relaxing getaway, an off-site retreat, or romantic wedding, discover why Bernardus has become the luxurious heart of Carmel Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley
Bernardus Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.