We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bernardus Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th night free
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nestled in the foothills, this luxury resort offers uncompromising service, excellent food and wine, and tranquil surroundings. While only 30 minutes away from the tourist hub bub of Monterey, one might as well be hundreds of miles away in a tranquil countryside.
The rooms are nicely furnished and the amenities appropriate for a luxury property.
Guest services skills are exceptional from front desk staff, various managers, down to room attendants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    69
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
62
248
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This place is set on a gorgeous property with a great staff! I can not emphasize how sweet the staff was, the service at this hotel is just out of this world. The rooms are nice, but the bathrooms are a bit outdated. The spa is quite lovely. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend this place without a hesitation. When we were leaving the staff put water bottles in our car (it is the little things that set a place a apart). This place is not ultra luxurious but you will be very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Things have changed. First the staff is still friendly, but there was a lack of staff, seems they are cutting back. Our room was nice, but it is getting quite run down, carpets are worn, the curtains are unraveling. The rooms need a major upgrade. There was only one valet on the day we arrived and he was quite busy. The resort fee no longer includes tips to the staff. One of the major flaws is the overwhelming septic smell in different areas of the hotel, at over $400 per day they should included free gas masks. Took four different phone calls to get room service. First call to room service rang at least ten times until finally the concierge answered, she connected me again and still no answer, she answered again and said he must be delivering. So you have one person to answer the phone and deliver food. Seems to be another cut back. She connected me directly to Wickets, no answer again. Finally after about half an hour of going back and forth I finally got someone in room service. He was not very personable. Conversation sort of like "what do you want". They say they serve Illy coffee. They no longer do and the coffee was awful. The food was good, but the eggs were cold. Maybe room service cooks the food too.

I told the front desk about the coffee asked why it says they serve Illy coffee on the menu when that isn't what they serve. No answer. There was no valet when we went to get the car, we finally had to get the front desk to radio him. After waiting ten minutes, my husband went and got the keys, which were kept in an unlocked cabinet. They are not great on security and went and got the car himself. When he got back with the car, the valet showed up, he had to go pick up a guest with their luggage and bring them up to their car. Seems valet has more than one duty now. Needless to say, this was the third time we had been here and things a definitely going down hill and at these prices we will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G, Manager at Bernardus Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Our sincerest apologies for the circumstances you encountered during your visit with us. We can do better tha what you experienced - and we've made important communication on staffing in these departments to support the expectations that should be met.
We are in the final stages of detailing a very complete renovation here at Bernardus in the very near future. Guest rooms, restaurants, and all public areas will enjoy a complete refreshment. The wonderful ambience will remain - but with a wonderful updated feeling.
I thank you for your comments and would enjoy the opportunity to offer personal assistance if you would find yourself traveling this way in the future.
Kind regards,
Tom Glidden/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Perfect. Awesome. Beautiful. Everyone is super friendly. My dog and I had a wonderful "girls weekend"! The food is amazing. The wine superb. I LOVE I was offered a glass of their Sauvignon Blanc upon check in. And then found a full bottle of it with yummy cheese and crackers and fruit in the fridge!
The staff is fabulous and helpful and HAPPY. The fireplace, the huge bath tub, the pillow-top bed, the quietude. I also appreciate the sustainable efforts: not just "don't have your towels washed daily" but also, large refillable toiletry bottles, recyclable bins and optional lights with operable windows. So perfect! The grounds are gorgeous-- I love seeing the mountains. And so many places to hike and enjoy nearby. The spa was amazing too. (I might have overindulged there…) I can't wait to come back!!!
The only thing I'd recommend is that the place is so dog-friendly: they should have a designated seating area outside where you can dine with your furry family member.
Oh, and I went in March. Just me (single female with my dog). Apparently, more singles and youngish people stay in the spring/summer/fall for weddings, so that might be more fun if you're looking to mingle. But I just wanted to escape and read a book. Though, I made a number of friends because everyone was so darn nice and easy to talk to! :)
Also, check for Groupon. I found a much better deal there and on Kayak than on what they offered on the webiste (or on phone)! (like $500 off!)

Room Tip: I loved Room 37: large (prob too large for just 1 person and a dog), but the huge soaking tub was so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is one of those places that you might never discover unless someone tells you about it. Nestled amongst rolling vineyards, the property is beautiful, and it only gets better from there as you drive up. We stayed on a business trip, but all of us had our SOs as well, so it was both a couples trip and a business trips. [Hint to TA: allow us to pick more than one category for the "Sort of Trip" designation]. From the valet, to the offered glass of wine at check-in [sitting at a comfortable table/desk], to every single aspect of staff service, the staff makes you feel like you are their only guest. I know that one other reviewer seemed to feel that the property and service and value had declined a bit, but if so, I can only imagine what it once was like.

Our group was relatively large, approximately 25, and meal service at both Wickets and Marinus was top notch. Multi-course meals were served timely, and wine was refreshed promptly. I know it is always possible to have a let-down experience, but that was not our case. Our trip planner companion commented as well that in all the various resorts our group had been able to stay, Bernardus was among the best. Personally, I have stayed in 5-stars in a lot of places, and none were more pleasant than this.

If memory serves, the property only has about 55 rooms or so, and I think that small size pays off in the attentiveness of the staff. I normally travel with a set of "green proteins" that I try to get blended into a smoothie in the mornings. Lots of places don't like this, because they have to wash their blenders, and I understand that perfectly. In those situations, I just hand-mix it myself. But at Bernardus, not only did they take the process off my hands, but each morning after the first, a staff member would greet me and ask if I had my "green packets" for them to mix up, and asked what other ingredients I wanted in my smoothie. That is service.

The spa is excellent. Both my GF and I loved it. The men's locker room was nicely furnished, and I was given my choice of beverages both before and after spa to enjoy. The masseuse paid particular attention to listening to my massage needs [post-cancer surgery issues] and gave me easily the best deep tissue massage I have had in years.

There is simply nothing I could offer to improve this place. It's even reasonably priced. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Upstairs or down doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a wonderful property. A fabulous setting, well-located, with great architectural bones and appointments. We loved the spa, the restaurant and the countryside for walks and hikes. But most of all, the staff was wonderful across the board. Specifically, Paul Wedero, the sommelier; Alex Oplpin, at the front desk; Scott McQuiston, who made early morning coffee for our golf outings; and Miguel Lopez, whole handles parking, luggage, and directions.
The property has just been sold to new owners, we can't wait to see how they enhance what is already a 'jewel.' We'll be back.

Room Tip: We chose the section which has rooms 1 - 6 and think it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have to give my most rave reviews to this excellent establishment. From the moment you walk in, the staff is attentive to your every need and to the quality of the stay. Upon entering, we were greeted with a complimentary glass of their house Bernardus Winery) wine. It was a great start to a relaxing weekend.

The rooms themselves are well acquainted - upscale though not oppulent. It does have the feel of a "lodge"; though I will say the 2 person tub and separate shower were very nice amenities. The rooms come with a certain amount of stocked snacks and beverages (wine, cheese, sodas, chips and cracker) that are all included free of additional charge. My wife and I enjoyed the wine and cheese as a later night snack.

Both eateries are top notch - both food and service.

A special little extra point, the valet left 2 bottles of water in our cup holder for our trip home. A simple but wonderful gesture in my opinion.. The type of thing a place with quality customer service would do!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G, Manager at Bernardus Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks you so much for sharing your enthusiasm for Bernardus - our staff enjoys feedback for their efforts, so we are constantly providing TA reviews. We learn from constructive commentary, and we smile when we receive comments such as yours.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Tom Glidden/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
10.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
9.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
18.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#2 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernardus Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic, pastoral and artistic, there's no place like Carmel Valley. And there's no better way to tap into the small-town charms than at Bernardus Lodge & Spa-an indulgent 28-acre escape. Tucked away among rolling vineyards and gardens, Bernardus invites you to savor the intimacy of a boutique resort with an epicurean spirit and a soothing soul. Retreat to the warmth of an old friend's rustic-chic ranch estate, where high-touch service welcomes you home. Here's your chance to unplug, unwind and savor time well spent, whether it's pursuing a new interest or perfecting the art of basking in the warm Carmel Valley sun. Stroll our organic chef's garden and watch a true garden-to-table experience. Grab a gourmet basket and find a picnic-perfect spot with your partner. Share a glass of Pinot. Dabble in Carmel Valley's endless pursuits, all curated by our local staff for the ultimate insider's experience. Then sink into the cozy furnishings of a redesigned guestroom open to the outdoors. Relax, reflect, rejuvenate and breathe deep. Bernardus captures the magic of Carmel-and the memories that matter most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley
Bernardus Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.