We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, But….” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bernardus Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bernardus Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carmel Valley
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Very Good, But….”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The staff is wonderful and will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. We upgraded to a croquet room with two patios, which was very nice. But…. yes a big BUT, the bed was horrible in fact so bad I am still seeing a Chiropractor after weeks of staying at the hotel. This is something the must change if they what us to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, Manager at Bernardus Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Luxury Croquet room, this room type is one of my favorites.

I regret that your sleeping experience was not up to our standards and caused you to see a doctor after your departure. Please feel welcome to contact me directly to discuss this inconvenience further.

Thank you again, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Bernardus Lodge in the near future.

All the best,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    56
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
200
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
684 helpful votes 684 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Need I say more? The Bernardus Lodge is everything you may want for a romantic Carmel getaway. The grounds are beautiful, the staff are the ultimate in professionalism (without being stuffy) and the whole place just "screams" relaxation!
We've stayed in so many ramshackles calling themselves hotels in downtown Carmel by the Sea that we were happy to upgrade to the more relaxing atmosphere, better weather and beautiful scenery of Carmel Valley. We only stayed one night in the Fall (so no pool activity) and the hotel was not entirely full but the vibe was definitely serene.
The rooms are spacious and immaculate but could use a bit of "contemporizing". The bed, linens and towels are top notch. The snacks and welcome wine are a very nice touch.
It was nice to walk to dinner at Marinus rather than have to drive into Carmel Valley or downtown. It was an OUTSTANDING meal with service to match!! It was fine dining at it's finest without being pretentious or stuffy.
We will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, Manager at Bernardus Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I am happy to hear that your stay was relaxing. Come back soon, and consider a longer stay so that we may pamper you to the fullest. We are eagerly anticipating your return!

Warm Regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigginsBoy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a couple of nights at Bernardus - and wish we'd had longer. Staff were friendly and helpful, hotel small and easy. We had an excellent (pricey) meal in the main restaurant, memorable for the drug themed desert (you have to order it to see it!). Complimentary wine in your room was a real perk.

The surrounding area is the hotels greatest asset though. One of the most spectacular parts of the world we've visited.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, Manager at Bernardus Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
As a valued guest, we always appreciate your feedback. Providing us with such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor is a perfect compliment. I am happy to hear that you departed with fond memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Arriving at the Bernardus, you know you are in for a treat. From the time you drop your car off to the time you leave, everyone at Bernardus is welcoming, helpful and courteous. A great staff. As you enter the main building you are greeted by your concierge and given a glass of Bernardus wine. The concierge then takes you on a tour of the property and then to your room. The rooms are comfortable (especially the bed) plus you get 3 complimentary bottles of Bernardus wine as well as other goodies. We ate dinner at their two restaurants, Wickets Bistro (casual with great drinks-I discovered Monterey Rye, which was excellent) and Marinus. (more about Marinus in another review, but excellent) We also had breakfast on our patio one morning. Everything about our 3 night stay was so relaxing. A great place to get away and enjoy a peaceful atmosphere. One of the best places my wife and I have stayed at.

Room Tip: Our room (48) was at the back of the property - quiet and peaceful. We were on the second floor wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, Manager at Bernardus Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Your review is the real treat! Thank you for providing such valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We love to welcome our guests to Bernardus as though you were being welcomed into our home. Our staff as well as the guests benefit from this style of arrival. We agree with you about the Monterey Rye, it is made by Fog’s End Distillery based out of Gonzales (if you would like to add a bottle to your personal collection).

Cheers,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

From the quiet setting in the hills to the super soft feather bed on the mattress and, of course, the complimentary bottle of wine you know you are in for a treat while staying at Bernardus Lodge. This is a must stay for anyone looking to relax and unwind in the Carmel area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, Manager at Bernardus Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We definitely have a little slice of heaven in Carmel Valley, I am happy that you were able to take a bite. Our complimentary wines in the room is a guest favorite. Join us again soon, there really is no bad time of year to recharge and relax.

Until next time,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just home from a wonderful stay at Bernardus Lodge. We were guests at a beautiful wedding of friends. Everything was perfect.
Our room was large and comfortable. Had a treatment at the spa, (Michael gave a great deep tissue massage). Had dinner at Marinus Restaurant the food was fabulous the service great, plus excellent wine list.
Enjoyed sitting by the outside fireplace, after the wedding, with friends I had not seen in awhile.
Overall a very enjoyable stay and all 30 minutes from home:)

Room Tip: Room 28 overlooking the pool was great. Coffee on the balcony in the morning, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, Manager at Bernardus Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. Bernardus Lodge provides such a romantic venue for the wedding of your dreams and then the many anniversaries to follow. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and spa during your visit. Being only 30 minutes away, you are a perfect candidate for a ‘Stay-Cation’. Join us again soon, the weather has been is AMAZING!

With a smile,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent two nights at Bernardus as part of a trip giveaway my wife won on www.authenticluxurytravel.com. Everything about Bernardus is relaxing, from the entrance and greeting area, to the grounds and the room itself.

We stayed in Suite 16, overlooking the bocce lawn. Our room had a king bed, cafe table, sitting area with a fireplace, and a very large bathroom. It also had a very nice outdoor sitting area which was raised slightly above the lawn. Our room was probably a standard room, maybe a little higher, but it was wonderful. It came came stocked with a variety of snacks and several half bottles of wine, plus soft drinks and a carafe of drinking water.

Our package included dinner at Marinus, the upscale of the two restaurants on the grounds. Dinner was terrific; in fact, we never saw a menu. We were simply fed a selection of the chef's choice which included a crabmeat and beet salad, roasted duck breast, and a dessert. There were also a couple of amuse bouche between courses. While our dinner was included, we opted for the wine pairings which were $45 per person, but well worth it. The sommelier poured a different wine with each course, and explained each one. We enjoy wine, but never would've selected the wines or the pairings, yet we enjoyed them all.

On the day we left to return home, my wife and I each had massages at the Berandus spa. The massage was excellent, as was the spa itself. Before our appointments we were able to lounge in the heated pool, and were able to enjoy a sauna as well.

Bernardus is not inexpensive, but it a wonderful place to relax for a couple of days. It is also a nice change of pace from the also terrific village of Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Room Tip: We really liked the room overlooking the bocce lawn. For a little more privacy, ask for a room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, Manager at Bernardus Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
What a great prize to win! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our Premium Croquet rooms are the standard room, but very special as they offer the vaulted ceilings and sundrenched patio’s. They are a bit more social, but I enjoy them for it. I am very happy that you were able to enjoy the Chef’s tasting menu. Chef Cal really knows how to amaze our guests with the best ingredients the Monterey Peninsula has to offer and the most creative kitchen to support him. The massages on the day of departure is like a cherry on top, you really know how to travel!

Thank you for joining us,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bernardus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is widely recognized as one of the top winemaking estates in California. Founded by celebrated winemaker Bernardus Pon, the Lodge resembles a classic European country inn, with 57 suites, a luxurious spa, award-winning restaurant and the Bernardus Winery and Vineyard. For a relaxing getaway, an off-site retreat, or romantic wedding, discover why Bernardus has become the luxurious heart of Carmel Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.